1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

My Full Size Portable - Sennheiser HD 598

1. Phredd
    I've got a lot out of reading others' reviews and suggestions. Recently I spent a lot of time choosing portable headphones. I'm not an expert, but I have a lot of listening "experience" so I'm sharing my experience in case it might help others.

First, my definition of portable is being able to walk around with just my iPod, that is without a portable amplifier. I ended up with the Sennheiser HD 598, which are comfortable and sound great (good detail, warm with modest bass), but with no offense to Europeans (the design is inspired by their sports sedans) I wouldn't wear these in public. I'm actually amazed by the sound quality connected directly to my iPod that I'm considering selling my HD 650 headphones. They are better used with my NAD receiver, but I really hate to be tethered. As a bonus, although Sennheiser doesn't publish this, you can call them and order a short cable with a 1/8" plug for $15. So other than the bulk, they're really great portable headphones, just a little more noticeable compared to on-ear headphones.