My brand new JMT CMOY isn't working! Help me!
post-175545
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 19

HappymaN

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
918
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Posts
918
Likes
10
Can somebody help me troubleshoot my problem?

I don't know when I will be able to contact JMT, he tends to only drop by every couple of days, so here's my problem.

Denon UD-M30 Line Out ---> Outlaw PCA ---> RCA jacks on CMOY ---> ER-4P

I turn on the amplifier (it is connected to a walwart), the LED turns on, I push play, but I hear nothing! JMT mentioned something about the polarity of the walwart, I am sure I have it correct, because I read the instructions on the walwart packaging. What else could it be? Does anyone else have a Denon UD-M30, is my lineout busted?


JMT mentioned something about frying the OP amps if I got the polarity around the wrong way - I hope that isn't what I have done here...
 
     Share This Post       
post-175571
Post #3 of 19

HappymaN

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
918
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Posts
918
Likes
10
I'm using the RCA input. Is this what you mean? I'm also using the Walwart plug for power. When I plug my headphones in, I hear a crackle, but nothing else.
 
     Share This Post       
post-175624
Post #6 of 19

HappymaN

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
918
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Posts
918
Likes
10
Mine doesn't have a battery clip.
Though I don't think that it is a power related problem, as the LED lights up.

And I'm not quite sure what you mean by "what plug " I am using to power the amplifier. I am using the only size that will fit.

It can't be DOA, as I know that JMT tested it before shipping.

There was a sticker on the box which said that the package had been opened and inspected by Customs - I'm just hoping that they didn't try and use it with the wrong Walwart or an AC power supply. I doubt they would do this, right?


 
     Share This Post       
post-175628
Post #7 of 19

mickd1337

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2002
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Joined
Aug 30, 2002
Posts
2
Likes
0
Hey HappymaN bad luck to you, know you were looking forward to getting your amp.!.
 
     Share This Post       
post-175673
Post #8 of 19

JMT

JMT Audio:PPA/META42 Amp Factory
Moderator
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
6,733
Reaction score
18
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
6,733
Likes
18
HM

Sorry I haven't been to frequent here, I am away on business and have limited time to access Head-Fi. I responded to your PM, but it sounds like the op-amps are toast. Check your PM out and respond. I will be away for the 3 day weekend as well.
Quote:

I'm just hoping that they didn't try and use it with the wrong Walwart or an AC power supply. I doubt they would do this, right?


It is possible.
 
     Share This Post       
post-175857
Post #9 of 19

HappymaN

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
918
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Posts
918
Likes
10
I've responded to the PM Jon. Thanks from the prompt reply.

I am thinking that Customs is being pretty careful these days with packages to and from the US, and headphone amplifiers aren't the most innocent looking things. The only thing is, if they did connect it to an unsuitable PS, what proof have I got? Looks like I am screwed either way.
 
     Share This Post       
post-175920
Post #10 of 19

eric343

Member of the Trade: Audiogeek: The "E" in META42
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Messages
6,033
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Posts
6,033
Likes
11
I doubt you're screwed *any* way, since opamps are pretty easy and cheap to replace (if they're socketed)...
 
     Share This Post       
post-175955
Post #11 of 19

HappymaN

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
918
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Posts
918
Likes
10
Well when you add it all up, it's going to get pretty expensive:

Ship to JMT = $15US
Replacement Parts = $10US - $15US (estimate)
Ship to HappymaN = $15US

Total = $45US which is nearly 100AUD for me.

Expensive hobby. It is a complication that I really didn't need financially.

Looks like my quest has taken a step back...

 
     Share This Post       
post-175959
Post #12 of 19

eric343

Member of the Trade: Audiogeek: The "E" in META42
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Messages
6,033
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Posts
6,033
Likes
11
Well, actually if the opamps are socketed, you can replace them with a small screwdriver and some care. Just lever the old ones out and stick the new ones in (making sure to line up the little mark on the top of the new one with the mark in the socket)...
 
     Share This Post       
post-175967
Post #13 of 19

markjia

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
217
Reaction score
0
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Posts
217
Likes
0
You've probably already done this, but just to make sure...have you tested to make sure your CDP output is working? If you have another amp, try hooking it up to that. Or if not, do you have another source to try the CMOY with?
 
     Share This Post       
post-176022
Post #14 of 19

flashbak

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
1,092
Reaction score
23
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Posts
1,092
Likes
23
Happyman,
Sorry to hear about your disappointment!
Some Questions:
*What are the specification of the wallmart you were using?
*Can you find the op-amps locally? If not, won't it be less for you
to have JMT ship you the op-amps and have someone locally
install them.
*Have you definitely rulled out interconnects?
*Have you tried opening up the case to see if maybe a wire
broke off of the input/output(s) jack?
*Do you know anyone that is electronically inclined who could
take a look for you?
 
     Share This Post       
post-176167
Post #15 of 19

HappymaN

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
918
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Posts
918
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally posted by flashbak
Happyman,
Sorry to hear about your disappointment!
Some Questions:
*What are the specification of the wallmart you were using?
*Can you find the op-amps locally? If not, won't it be less for you
to have JMT ship you the op-amps and have someone locally
install them.
*Have you definitely rulled out interconnects?
*Have you tried opening up the case to see if maybe a wire
broke off of the input/output(s) jack?
*Do you know anyone that is electronically inclined who could
take a look for you?


I'm pretty sure that my Outlaws aren't busted. Problem is, I don't have any other sources to test them out with. Well sources with RCA jacks anyway...

The wallwart is a regulated 12V/1A power supply.

And this is going to sound really pathetic, but I realised today that my family doesn't own a screwdriver.
I just asked my mother, and she can't remember a time in the past 10 years where we have needed one, so we have never really bought one.

I've told my father to buy a screwdriver today, hopefully I can open the case up and check for cold solder joints. But JMT wants me to send it back to him so he can diagnose the problem, and I think that it the best plan of attack (despite the expenses).

Thanks for all your help guys, I might look into checking the wires, but other than that, I think I should leave it to JMT. He told me that all signs are pointing towards friend OP-amps.



 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top