MP3 recommendations
Jun 25, 2001 at 11:04 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

AndreYew

500+ Head-Fier
Hi guys,

I just started playing with MP3-encoding this weekend in an effort to be able to carry around a large amount of music without carrying lots of CDs around. I'm using AudioGrabber with the LAME 3.88 encoder, with playback on WinAmp, and I listen to mainly classical music. I'm thinking about encoding a bunch of music, and using a PJB-100 to carry it around with me (travelling, office, etc.). So I ran into some problems and have some observations, and hope that you guys can help me out:

1. MP3 seems to have an easier time on classical music than pop music, because perhaps pop music uses wider bandwith due to all the percussion and synthetic sounds. It was easy to hear artifacts on pop music, and quite difficult on classical music. I'm encoding at VBR 0, highest quality, joint-stereo, and am getting about 100 MB per 70 minutes of music. Just an observation.

2. Ironically, at the same time, MP3 IDs seem to be quite biased towards pop music rather than classical music. There's some space in ID3v2 to store composer and performer separately, but no space really for soloists, symphony orchestra, choral forces, etc. Ordering is definitely pop-oriented, as the software seems to assume that tracks are interchangeable, whereas many classical pieces must have the tracks in a particular order as they are sometimes continuous, which leads to the next problem.

3. Is there an MP3 player (software or hardware) that can play tracks continuously with no pause? Many classical pieces are continuous between tracks, and the little pause that WinAmp has is very annoying.

4. Freedb seems be worse than CDDB in knowing about the CDs I have, and seems to have lower quality information on the individual tracks. I really like AudioGrabber's grabbing capabilities, but don't like its use of Freedb. I've heard MusicMatch is also a good utility. Any ideas?