1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

Mozart Requiem Recommendations

Discussion in 'Music' started by rhizy, Sep 11, 2007.
  1. Rhizy
    Hi,

I'm just getting into classical music, have found the various threads here with recommendations for Beethoven symphony sets, Mahler, etc. very helpful. I'm after recommendations for recordings of Mozart's Requiem please.

Also, I'm in the process of setting up a headphone system for listening to classical and jazz (my tastes are somewhat broader and extend to Arcade Fire, The Police, RadioHead, Dylan, Neko Case, Joanna Newsom etc. but I find myself coming back lately to classical & Jazz). I'm currently considering purchasing ATH-AD900s headphones that will be connected to my ipod and home theatre system (fairly standard panasonic DVD player with a decent Onkyo amp). I will upgrade from here with a headphone amp and a decent cambridge CD player (Azur 640c V2). Do you think this will be an OK set-up for enjoying classical music?

Thanks for advice and recommendations.

Update: I just found this thread and will probably try and get hold of Nikolaus Harnoncourt's 2004 recording on Deutsche Harmonia Mundi.

2. Naga
    i have the karajan SACD version - and i really like it; however its the only version i have and cant offer much commentary on it

3. mbhaub
    Mozart: not to aggravate the situation, but do you want the Requiem as Mozart left it or as Sussmayr finished it? Assuming the latter, the above mentioned Karajan on DG is sublime. But I wouldn't be without the BBC recording with Benjamin Britten, either.