Monoprice Monolith Desktop THX Amp/DAC (#24459) - Impressions Thread
post-13715716
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 667

XERO1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
1,905
Reaction score
1,390
Location
SoCal
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
SoCal
Posts
1,905
Likes
1,390
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13715827
Post #2 of 667

XERO1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
1,905
Reaction score
1,390
Location
SoCal
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
SoCal
Posts
1,905
Likes
1,390
- Update - DAC/preamp outputs have been added to the final design.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13732673
Post #3 of 667

mandrake50

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
2,228
Reaction score
704
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Posts
2,228
Likes
704
Agreed. I wonder if that has anything to do with the THX licensing?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750695
Post #4 of 667

Asahi Templar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
263
Reaction score
218
Location
Osaka, Japan
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Location
Osaka, Japan
Posts
263
Likes
218
It looks like they have changed the design and now it does have RCA DAC outputs, very nice change. Now I wonder if you are able to cycle through the AKM filters. Seems like a exceptionally good deal if the THX amp lives up the hype. That surround processing has big potential for gamers and movie watchers especially. Its supposed to be a quite subtle effect which is great IMO.
T
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750710
Post #5 of 667

HipHopScribe

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
401
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Posts
1,604
Likes
401
It looks like they have changed the design and now it does have RCA DAC outputs, very nice change. Now I wonder if you are able to cycle through the AKM filters. Seems like a exceptionally good deal if the THX amp lives up the hype. That surround processing has big potential for gamers and movie watchers especially. Its supposed to be a quite subtle effect which is great IMO.
Where do you see that they've added outputs?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750774
Post #6 of 667

Asahi Templar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
263
Reaction score
218
Location
Osaka, Japan
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Location
Osaka, Japan
Posts
263
Likes
218
Where do you see that they've added outputs?
Its the picture I posted, they updated the product page on Monoprice.com. You can see Analog RCA output in the middle of the Balanced XLR ones.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750792
Post #7 of 667

HipHopScribe

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
401
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Posts
1,604
Likes
401
Its the picture I posted, they updated the product page on Monoprice.com. You can see Analog RCA output in the middle of the Balanced XLR ones.
Those are labeled inputs
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750802
Post #8 of 667

Asahi Templar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
263
Reaction score
218
Location
Osaka, Japan
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Location
Osaka, Japan
Posts
263
Likes
218
Those are labeled inputs
For me I see 2 sets of RCA one says in the other says out. You might want to clear your browsers cache, could be loading the old image if you have been to the page before.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750838
Post #9 of 667

HipHopScribe

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
1,604
Reaction score
401
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Posts
1,604
Likes
401
For me I see 2 sets of RCA one says in the other says out. You might want to clear your browsers cache, could be loading the old image if you have been to the page before.
Strange, it still doesn't show up right for me even after clearing my cache, but anyway that's definitely a needed change
 
     Share This Post       
post-13750884
Post #10 of 667

Asahi Templar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
263
Reaction score
218
Location
Osaka, Japan
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Location
Osaka, Japan
Posts
263
Likes
218
Strange, it still doesn't show up right for me even after clearing my cache, but anyway that's definitely a needed change

Ill try putting it on file hosting site maybe this one will show up correctly. THey changed the way the back looks quite a bit, reversed inputs and outputs side and added RCA outputs.
 
post-13751120
Post #11 of 667

NuClear235

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
99
Reaction score
16
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Posts
99
Likes
16
Now they change backplate? It seems it is it still not in final stage. I hoped this product will sell next month :frowning2:
 
     Share This Post       
post-13751347
Post #12 of 667

XERO1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
1,905
Reaction score
1,390
Location
SoCal
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
SoCal
Posts
1,905
Likes
1,390


Ill try putting it on file hosting site maybe this one will show up correctly. THey changed the way the back looks quite a bit, reversed inputs and outputs side and added RCA outputs.
Now that's more like it!

Of course I would prefer it to have a balanced output instead of a balanced input, but I'll take what I can get.

The Monolith Desktop just got a whole lot more attractive to me!
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13751481
Post #13 of 667

lugnut

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
903
Reaction score
341
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Posts
903
Likes
341
I still don't see a updated picture on monoprice site. Yes cleared my browser and no change. How about posting a link to new picture. Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-13752515
Post #14 of 667

Asahi Templar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Messages
263
Reaction score
218
Location
Osaka, Japan
Joined
Jul 19, 2017
Location
Osaka, Japan
Posts
263
Likes
218
I still don't see a updated picture on monoprice site. Yes cleared my browser and no change. How about posting a link to new picture. Thanks
I actually posted one a few posts back, but here is the direct link to where I uploaded it to imgur. https://i.imgur.com/elwqPQG.jpg . I am in Japan so I am assuming I am seeing a different version of the Monoprice website than everyone else which might be why its not showing up. Some more news is that the ETA now says 1/23/2018. So it looks like it has been delayed until next year likely to make these changes to the back-plate. No idea if that is final or not and they still havent added the full specs.

They must have saw all the feedback which was along the lines of "NO LINE OUT NO BUY!" and decided to redesign it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13752771
Post #15 of 667

NuClear235

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
99
Reaction score
16
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Posts
99
Likes
16
Strange is, how it will be implemented. Dirac is optimization for headphones. How it will sound on speakers thru line out...
And what about balanced out ? Headphone amp is balanced :)
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top