Missing equalization options for sound in Windows 7
Apr 27, 2015 at 3:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Mosstrekker192

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Posts
54
Likes
11
I recently purchased a new motherboard to replace a failing one- specifically, an H61M-P31 (G3). I honestly don't plan on keeping this MB and intend on replacing it within the week, but in the meantime, and hopefully for future reference (since I ran into this issue on a temporary computer I was using until I got my new MB), I'd like to be able to adjust the equalization options for my sound profile. This MB uses realtek like the previous one, but unfortunately, the equalization options are far fewer, in that I can only use presets and can't customize anything: http://i.gyazo.com/176ee3ef2976f99431974c8b5c4201fb.png
 
Going into the realtek HD audio setup itself is no better either. I have no other audio programs interfering with this either. I eventually came across the Realtek Equalizer (http://www.addictivetips.com/windows-tips/get-the-realtek-equalizer-back-in-windows-7-vista/), and while the Equalizer I previously used was under enhancements on my device in control panel, this seemed close enough. However, I couldn't finish a full install because I kept getting a "Windows can't verify the publisher of this driver software", an error I've never received before, and choosing to go ahead wouldn't work. I came across a page dealing with workarounds on this error (http://www.wintips.org/how-to-fix-windows-cannot-verify-the-digital-signature-for-this-file-error-in-windows-8-7-vista/), but the first command of "shutdown ro" wouldn't work at all, and while the second did, after resetting the computer and trying the install again, I'd STILL get the error. I found another download link for Realtek equalizer, but I got a new error saying ""Windows x64 driver ( Rtkvac64.sys) not found!". Googling this turned up very little, and when I found a download link (http://foreclosedglobal.com/windows-x64-driver-rtkvac64-sys-download/), I, against my better judgement (especially since this page goes on about how it's for smartphones and unrelated to audio), downloaded it, and it installed some terrible malware that forced me to install adware cleaner to get rid of. I finally seemed to come across another download link off filehippo, and after a rather lengthy install process, requiring me to reset the computer twice (made worse by the fact I'm out of thermal paste and the coat on my CPU isn't optimal), it didn't do a thing- I still have the same exact Realtek Audio Manager. The only change was that, after the first reset, my audio options were somewhat expanded under enhancements, and I had headphones listed as a device this time, but still not the equalization options I want. Those were gone after the second reboot.
 
I'm really confused here- why do I get these bizarre, seemingly unsolvable error messages when trying to install Realtek equalizer, even if it's from Realtek's official site? Why can't I just get back the enhancement settings I had before and avoid a new motherboard stripping them away and ruining it? I mean, they both use Realtek. Preferably, I'd like to have audio enhancement settings under "properties" in the playback devices, and ideally recover my old audio setup, if it's saved anywhere on the computer.
 
Apr 27, 2015 at 5:05 AM Post #2 of 7

GREQ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Posts
5,617
Likes
2,931
Location
Frankfurt am Main
Instead of fiddling with badly coded buggy software/drivers, make your life much easier by following these simple steps:
 
1 - Disable all sound effects - tick the box to disable all sound effects - http://embed.gyazo.com/176ee3ef2976f99431974c8b5c4201fb.png
2 - Download Foobar2000 (best PC media player) http://www.foobar2000.org/
3 - Download a 31-band equalizer plugin for Foobar2000 - http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_dsp_xgeq
4 - Enjoy a FABULOUS equalizer and media player for free.
 
When you 'disable all sound effects' you get the most pure, unaltered signal from your DAC.
Foobar2000 also attempts to play music with the most pure signal possible and has a tonne of awesome features.
 
Apr 27, 2015 at 1:48 PM Post #3 of 7

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Posts
19,514
Likes
2,344
Location
grand rapids, mi
Instead of fiddling with badly coded buggy software/drivers, make your life much easier by following these simple steps:

1 - Disable all sound effects - tick the box to disable all sound effects - http://embed.gyazo.com/176ee3ef2976f99431974c8b5c4201fb.png
2 - Download Foobar2000 (best PC media player) http://www.foobar2000.org/
3 - Download a 31-band equalizer plugin for Foobar2000 - http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_dsp_xgeq
4 - Enjoy a FABULOUS equalizer and media player for free.

When you 'disable all sound effects' you get the most pure, unaltered signal from your DAC.
Foobar2000 also attempts to play music with the most pure signal possible and has a tonne of awesome features.


+1

A good music equalizer on Foobar is the way to go. If you need EQ for everything (not just music through a media player), look into Equalizer APO and a GUI for it:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/equalizerapo/
http://sourceforge.net/projects/peace-equalizer-apo-extension/
 
Apr 27, 2015 at 4:54 PM Post #4 of 7

Mosstrekker192

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Posts
54
Likes
11
Thanks for the suggestions- I'm looking into Foobar and I'll also check out Equalizer APO, but as one other question, is there any way my computer might have saved my audio setup I had under Realtek/Windows sound? I had it saved among the presets under it's own name, and it'd be great if I could get that back somehow, and import it into another equalizer.
 
Apr 27, 2015 at 5:08 PM Post #5 of 7

Redcarmoose

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Posts
21,608
Likes
18,407
Location
.
Thanks for the suggestions- I'm looking into Foobar and I'll also check out Equalizer APO, but as one other question, is there any way my computer might have saved my audio setup I had under Realtek/Windows sound? I had it saved among the presets under it's own name, and it'd be great if I could get that back somehow, and import it into another equalizer.






Before you get started you may find out that Foobar 2000 only works on 32bit machines. If your Windows 7 is 64bit you may be out of luck. I can only run it o my 32bit machine not my 64bit.
 
Apr 27, 2015 at 5:15 PM Post #7 of 7

Redcarmoose

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Posts
21,608
Likes
18,407
Location
.
I have Windows 7 64 bit and I'm able to listen to music on Foobar just fine, there's just aspects of the design and layout I've never been big on and figured out how to possibly fix.


Wow, I could not get it to work on a 64 bit machine?

Edit.....just found the 64bit program. THX

http://foobar2000.en.lo4d.com
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top