Millett "Starving Student" hybrid amp
post-6950905
Post #5,506 of 7,249

Secretninja

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
20
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Posts
20
Likes
0
It is definitely wired correctly, just a bad connection at some point.  I am going to redo the whole thing probably tomorrow, with a little more thought put into the placement of parts and a better grounding system.  I just got a little fidgety once I got all the inputs, outputs, and tube sockets placed into my box and started soldering.  It resulted in a cluster****, and you can't really tell what is going on at all.  It is aggravating, both channels are wired exactly the same as far as I can tell, and only one is working, and that one is very quiet.
 
On a side note, my landlord was in the apartment to spray for bugs, and asked me if I was making bombs.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6956713
Post #5,507 of 7,249

th3bl0b

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
Hi guys!
 
I was really pumped to put together the starving student kit... and I finally have like half a year later. Anyhow, I powered it up, it doesn't seem like anything is running, I'm pretty sure the power is working cause I've been probing around and a few sparks on the board went off... (oops!) However, the mosfets don't seem to be heating up and the leds under the tubes are lighting up so I'm fairly certain nothing is going on there. How would you guys suggest probing around because the top plate is in the way of the probing?
 
Anyhow, I'll keep probing around, but wanted to see if you guys had any suggestions. I used the kit from beezar (which, by the way, thanks to the guys that put it together!). I can snap a few pics when I get home.
 
Thanks in advance!
 
     Share This Post       
post-6961947
Post #5,508 of 7,249

th3bl0b

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
Sorry for taking so long. I've attached a picture of what my circuit looks like. I think everything is correct.
 
Thanks for helping me out!
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-6961977
Post #5,509 of 7,249

th3bl0b

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
Ah! I realized the problem was something that someone else had gone over here. The MOSFETs were somehow shorted to ground so they wouldn't turn on! However, my LEDs don't turn on is that an indication that I wired them up backwards?
 
     Share This Post       
post-6965197
Post #5,510 of 7,249

meme

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
309
Reaction score
20
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Posts
309
Likes
20
Thought I'd post some pictures of my recent 12AU7 effort.
 
All resistors are Ohmite carbon composite, capacitors are Vishay axial 'lytics and TAD mustards. Valves are JJs.
 


 
I've used the Hammond case supplied with the Beezar kit and embellished it with teak from and old box and fancy gold bits.
 

 
Chuffed that it worked first time with no problems ~ Cheers!
 
     Share This Post       
post-6965287
Post #5,513 of 7,249

the_equalizer

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
68
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Posts
1,138
Likes
68
 
Quote:
Thought I'd post some pictures of my recent 12AU7 effort.
 
All resistors are Ohmite carbon composite, capacitors are Vishay axial 'lytics and TAD mustards. Valves are JJs.
 
SNIP

I've used the Hammond case supplied with the Beezar kit and embellished it with teak from and old box and fancy gold bits.
 
SNIP
 
Chuffed that it worked first time with no problems ~ Cheers!


Nice looking build! Congratulations!
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-6965329
Post #5,515 of 7,249

jdkJake

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
1,298
Reaction score
16
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Posts
1,298
Likes
16
Beautiful work. You should post that on the "Post pics of your build" thread.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6967444
Post #5,518 of 7,249

marcus76

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
11
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Posts
15
Likes
11
hi there,
lovely @ meme, the gold and teak/black fits perfectly imo!
 
I didn't even mess with a possible enclosure yet
need to source the parts first hehe.
At first I thought about doing something in engineered stone/marble/granite, but regarding the size... almost impossible for me.
(I work in a small stonemason business, most of the stuff we do is tombstones... , and as we don't have cnc/waterjet...no chance, even drilling would get difficult.. so I'd go for wood or alu too) 
 
I hooked up a BoM , first part is from Conrad.de as Beftus suggested, second part is from Banzaimusic.com, german store ..
Might order most parts there , since they got almost everything. Need to check the total tomorrow.
Maybe you guys could take a look, I made some notes ...
Here's the link : http://frickel.dezern.at/
Thanks for looking,
Marcus
 
     Share This Post       
post-6970458
Post #5,519 of 7,249

th3bl0b

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
Wow that looks great, meme!
 
So after debugging and fixing the LEDs up - it was just some loose connection. For some reason the left channel is quite a bit softer than the other. I looked at all the connections, but didn't see any connections that weren't soldered completely. I also noticed that when I only had the RCA cable hooked up only to the right channel, there was a ground hum, but when I hooked up the RCA cable only to the left channel, the sound was pretty clean. I'm fairly certain both channels work as well because when I switch the RCA connections inside the box there is sound coming from both RCA connectors.Also, the left channel - which is softer - also has quite a bit of distortion on it. What would you suggest me doing?
 
Thanks,
Ben
 
     Share This Post       
post-6970934
Post #5,520 of 7,249

the_equalizer

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
68
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Posts
1,138
Likes
68
Hi Ben,
 
  Good to hear your making progress with your amp. About your problem, try first swapping the tubes and see if the problem 'follows the tube'.
 
If it doesn't then check the connections from the RCA jacks to the board, it sounds like one of them might be inverted (ground connected to signal and signal to ground) or not making good contact at the terminal block or the jack.
 
Good luck!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top