Marantz Model 2226 Problem (solved)
post-7577125
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 9

T-Willi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
150
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Posts
150
Likes
11
UPDATE
 
   
Alright back with an update. I did exactly as you said.... Used a compressed air blower and brushed over the pots with an old painbrush and my did that work quite well! Now when I change the volume there is just a bit of static. No more channels fading in and out or extremely loud obnoxious static that  makes me want to throw my headphones haha. Although, as I just mentioned, the static is still there but its very miniscule and doesnt bother me. Overall I thank everyone for your help :D
 
     -Thanks
 
 
 
 
Alrighty, so my new (and first pair of audiophile cans
) Shure srh840s came in the mail today and upon arrival I figured "Hey I bet these would sound awesome on the Marantz!" Sure enough I hook everything up, become entranced in my music
, my mom even said I could have the Marantz and also her old Sony STR-SE501, sounds great right? Well they both sound quite great, but theres one problem with the Marantz. When I touch the knob to change the volume it makes a static noise and when I have to lower/raise the volume the static will come up again and stay for about 7-15 seconds, then itll settle down and go away. If that doesnt happen then normally the left channel in my headphone will go out and I have to ever so slightly adjust the knob until the channel comes back.
 
     Its not my headphones, its the receiver, I know this because I tested this out on the surround monitors and it did the same exact thing. I dont mind just biting the bullet and using the sony receiver but the Marantz provides much more bass and I like its overall sound compared to the Sony. I know of a shop in town but I dont think its still in business, and any other store that could possibly fix it would be 45 miles away. Does anyone know if this is a common issue and can easily be fixed or will I need to find a professional?
 
 
 
 Thanks in Advance,
                                        -Kyle
 
 Also one more thing. If I were to use the sony but I wanted more bass from it would I have to preamp it? Right now im using a Red/White to 3.5mm cord (ipod) > receiver> Headphones. If I were to preamp would it be red/White to 3.5 (ipod) > amp > receiver> headphones? Would a fiio e11 work for that setup?
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577498
Post #2 of 9

sterling1

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
620
Reaction score
47
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Posts
620
Likes
47
It's old and it's dusty. It can be cleaned by a professional, or you can just turn the volume knob, that's to say use it more often than it has been used over the years, and the problem may go away on its own.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7577743
Post #3 of 9

T-Willi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
150
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Posts
150
Likes
11
Do you think opening up and getting a blower to blow some of the dust would help at all?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7579929
Post #4 of 9

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
19,073
Reaction score
29
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
Opening the case up and using compressed air and perhaps a long hair paint brush will help remove the dust that has accumulated on top of the boards/components. However to clean the pots you will need a potentiometer cleaner and a lube to "hit" each of the pots and switches, this followed by turning the pots/switches several times in both directions (repeat the process). However, if you do not know what you are doing you could get hurt or hurt the amp.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7585053
Post #5 of 9

T-Willi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
150
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Posts
150
Likes
11
Well mrarroyo Im just going to try out that first option you listed. Im not exactly in the "getting zapped to death" mood haha. I have noticed just from me using the marantz a bit more the static has started to go away but it is still pretty significant. Thanks for everyone's help! :D
 
     Share This Post       
post-7586916
Post #6 of 9

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
19,073
Reaction score
29
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
Good luck, BTW with the amp off you could go back and forth on the various pots/switches and that may be enough to clean them.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7592002
Post #7 of 9

T-Willi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
150
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Posts
150
Likes
11
Alright back with an update. I did exactly as you said.... Used a compressed air blower and brushed over the pots with an old painbrush and my did that work quite well! Now when I change the volume there is just a bit of static. No more channels fading in and out or extremely loud obnoxious static that  makes me want to throw my headphones haha. Although, as I just mentioned, the static is still there but its very miniscule and doesnt bother me. Overall I thank everyone for your help :D
 
     -Thanks
 
edit: I'll edit my original post to reflect this post. Thanks again everyone :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-7594105
Post #8 of 9

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
19,073
Reaction score
29
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
Glad it worked out, BTW repeat the cleaning in a couple of weeks. For some reason the dust/dirt has a way of coming back shortly after a cleaning. At least that has been my experience.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7594379
Post #9 of 9

T-Willi

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
150
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Posts
150
Likes
11
Alright will do, and also the static has completely erased itself except for when I turn the knob while its on the low end of volume. Thanks again!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top