M-Audio Audiophilie USB & ASIO
post-764921
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
According the M-Audio, the Audiophile USB is supposed to be able to support 24bit/96khz ASIO. Unfortunately I'm unable to get it to work in Foobar2000. Can anyone help?

I'm able to use Kernel Streaming semi-successfully (everytime messenger gives me a pop up the sound goes all screwy and I have to restart the song. I can use Waveout or Directsound without any problems but I I would really like to make use of the ASIO support.

When I do set it up to run ASIO the song appears to try to start and doesn't give an error but doesn't actually do anything. I've tried setting the bit depth to 32bit and 24bit padded to 32bit but I get an error when I do that. I've also tried changing the channel settings in the ASIO config page of Foobar but that didn't work either.

-EDIT-

ASIO does work when the card is set to 16bit/44.1khz
 
     Share This Post       
post-764926
Post #2 of 28

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
First of all, go to the sounds and multimedia control panel, and make sure the APUSB is NOT the perferred playback device, and check use only preferred playback devices, this should get rid of that problem you have with kernel streaming.

For ASIO, you are sure you have the right version and whatnot, and that the right device is selected? If that is the case, try playing a song at 24padded to 32 and 96K, and tell me what the error message is that pops up in the console.
 
     Share This Post       
post-764936
Post #3 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
INFO (foo_output_asio(dll)) : open : 96000 Hz, LINEAR PCM, 32 bits, 2 channels
INFO (foo_output_asio(dll)) : ASIO device type [channel 0] : Int24LSB
INFO (foo_output_asio(dll)) : ASIO device type [channel 1] : Int24LSB
ERROR (foo_output_asio(dll)) : unsupported output data format.


Above is the error I get when I try to run 24bit padded.


I'm afraid this is one of those cases where I want make cake and would like to eat it too... I would like to hear the windows sounds and would rather leave it set so that it is the default since I use the card for some gaming.
 
     Share This Post       
post-764939
Post #4 of 28

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
What happens if you try to run just regular 24-bit?

The error message is basically saying that it's pissed because you are trying to send it 32-bit data but it can only accept 24-bit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-764941
Post #5 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
Yeah I know... when I try to run 24bit fixed it seems like it's going to work but then does nothing. The song just never starts...
 
     Share This Post       
post-764951
Post #6 of 28

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Hmm, and there are no ASIO or sample rate related output options on the driver control panel?
 
     Share This Post       
post-764968
Post #7 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
There are... you have to configure the card to only use one stereo output before it'll run 96kHz... but that's set to analog out I have run everything else waveout and directsound in 24/96 without issues.
 
     Share This Post       
post-764981
Post #8 of 28

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Hmm I'm all tapped out for now, I'd ahve to have it in front of me to try some other strategies.
 
     Share This Post       
post-764991
Post #9 of 28

Permonic

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 12, 2003
Messages
1,178
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 12, 2003
Posts
1,178
Likes
10
Well, I faced the similar problem with Foobar and M-Audio Transit a while ago. I've tried several output data format but received similar error messages.

Is the Resampler(SSRC) among Active DSPs???

A solution that works for me:

1. In the Transit Control Panel, the operating Mode is set to "0 in, 2 out, 24-bit, 88200 Hz to 96000 Hz"
2. In Foobar, I set the Output data format to 24bit fixed-point and at the resampler to 88200 Hz or to 9600 Hz (requires very high latency).

Setting the Output data format to a padded-point didn't work, Transit requires fixed-point.

Since Transit and Audiophile USB are from the same company, it might work.
 
     Share This Post       
post-764999
Post #10 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally posted by Permonic
Well, I faced the similar problem with Foobar and M-Audio Transit a while ago. I've tried several output data format but received similar error messages.

Is the Resampler(SSRC) among Active DSPs???

A solution that works for me:

1. In the Transit Control Panel, the operating Mode is set to "0 in, 2 out, 24-bit, 88200 Hz to 96000 Hz"
2. In Foobar, I set the Output data format to 24bit fixed-point and at the resampler to 88200 Hz or to 9600 Hz (requires very high latency).

Setting the Output data format to a padded-point didn't work, Transit requires fixed-point.

Since Transit and Audiophile USB are from the same company, it might work.


My issue isn't getting the card to support 24/96, I've had that working since day 1. The problem is that I cannot get ASIO to work at 24/96.
 
     Share This Post       
post-765009
Post #11 of 28

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
Have you tried 32-bit floating point, by some odd chance (though I doubt it wil wro but you never know).
 
     Share This Post       
post-765011
Post #12 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
as expected... no dice...
 
     Share This Post       
post-765013
Post #13 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
thanks for the help btw.
 
     Share This Post       
post-765017
Post #14 of 28

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
Try this,

set output to 24bit.

in ASIO panel shift the output by +2 and if that doesn't work another +2 so 0, 2, 4.
 
     Share This Post       
post-765020
Post #15 of 28

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
tried, but will try again, thanks...
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top