Looking for: "Office" headphone for progressive metal & rock
Oct 14, 2018 at 1:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Immortaly007

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

I'm relatively new in the world of audiophile headphones, and I'm looking for a nice set of closed-back over-ear headphones for use in an office environment.

I listen to a lot of (progressive) rock and metal, such as Dream Theater, Symphony X, Periphery, TesseracT, Meshuggah, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Alter Bridge, Foo Fighters.

Because I like guitars a lot, I want them to come forward in the mix, so I'm not a bass-head. I'm looking for more of a flat response. I don't mind if it needs an amp (I have a spare O2 amp and AudioEngine D1 DAC), as long as it sounds good.

At home I have a Sennheiser HD600 (with a DarkVoice 336E Tube Amp and AudioQuest DragonFly Red DAC), and I love how that sounds (great warmth and clarity, sounds nice and balanced to me). Unfortunately, for an office situation it leaks too much sounds.

In short, I think what I like best would be a somewhat warm, neutral sound.

The price range I'm looking in is $200-$500

Headphones I've tried (kind of ordered from best to worst option, taking the price and sound into account):
  • Audio Technica ATH-MSR7 (borrowed): Quite nice, neutral and very detailed sound. The slightly cold an analytical sound works well for metal, but if there's a slightly warmer alternative, i'd love that. I like them a lot and they are a good contender.
  • Audeze Sine (tried in store): love the sound, but with them being on-ear, I'm a bit worried that they'd be uncomfortable when wearing them for a long time, especially since I wear glasses.
  • Beyerdynamic 1770 Pro (tried in store): Slightly too bass heavy (but not as much as the Meze 99 Classics)
  • Sennheiser HD630VB (tried in store): They sounded really clear and detailed, but imo too analytical and cold for "fun" listening. The bass-control is cool tho!