LG V10 : New ESS Chipped Flagship Android Phone from LG
post-12083855
Post #841 of 3,525

Slaviola

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Posts
49
Likes
15
Rpg2
yes, i would understand that, if the quality will change, but not! There's no changes, zero! Maybe for a lower impedance headphones the ESS dac is on on stock and the toggle the button on/off do it nothing? Hmmm... for 100%, i know when i plug a much more Ohm headphones the change is POWERFULL, the volume is rise a lot and the quality also, so I know that the ESS works... any of You guy's maybe know's more than I?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12083887
Post #842 of 3,525

jasonb

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
4,379
Reaction score
873
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Posts
4,379
Likes
873
For lower impedance stuff im sure the dac and amp are still beijg used. When you switch the hifi toggle on and off do you hear a slight drop in volume for a half of a second or so? When the phone switches from one amp and dac to another youll hear a slight drop of the volume.

In terms of the ess amp, it is adaptive, so with low impedance stuff you really wont notice much of a change in volume. But again, if you hear the sound drop out for a half a second of so when you press the toggle, it is working. If you press the toggle in an app that doesnt work with the ess chips you wont experience the half a second or so of audio dropout. Thats how you can tell its working or not.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12083934
Post #843 of 3,525

Slaviola

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Posts
49
Likes
15
In a low impedance headphones, like my XBA-H3 when I toggle the Hi-Fi on/off there is a pause in music - like U say, drop out in a half of second, but nothing else... no change in volume or quality! Realy, nothing! (i have a good hearing). But the situation is different when i plug the Sennheiser's headphones with 200(or 250?)Ohm, then the different is! The volume is mouch louder and quality is much better when the toggle is ON. So, the problem is why on XBA-H3 are no (0%) diffrence with Hi-Fi On or Off? This is very strange for me... one thing, I always use the stock player, not any others.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12083938
Post #844 of 3,525

Slaviola

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Posts
49
Likes
15
I know this is crazy, but... maybe the ESS DAC not working with every headphones? Yeah, yeah... i know this is stupid idea, but i want to understand what's going on in my situation XD
 
     Share This Post       
post-12083975
Post #845 of 3,525

jasonb

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
4,379
Reaction score
873
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Posts
4,379
Likes
873
I highly doubt that.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12083999
Post #846 of 3,525

Yubacore

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
114
Reaction score
48
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Posts
114
Likes
48
  In a low impedance headphones, like my XBA-H3 when I toggle the Hi-Fi on/off there is a pause in music - like U say, drop out in a half of second, but nothing else... no change in volume or quality! Realy, nothing! (i have a good hearing). But the situation is different when i plug the Sennheiser's headphones with 200(or 250?)Ohm, then the different is! The volume is mouch louder and quality is much better when the toggle is ON. So, the problem is why on XBA-H3 are no (0%) diffrence with Hi-Fi On or Off? This is very strange for me... one thing, I always use the stock player, not any others.
 
 
So it's safe to assume that most of the improvement comes from the amp section, not the DAC. You're basically saying you can't hear any difference at all on headphones that don't need much amping. And that you have good ears.
 
Do you have another phone or a DAP to compare to?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084018
Post #847 of 3,525

Roscoeiii

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
1,290
Reaction score
293
Location
Chicagoland
Joined
May 5, 2008
Location
Chicagoland
Posts
1,290
Likes
293
So it's safe to assume that most of the improvement comes from the amp section, not the DAC. You're basically saying you can't hear any difference at all on headphones that don't need much amping. And that you have good ears.

Do you have another phone or a DAP to compare to?

Hardly safe to say that improvement comes from amp instead of DAC. IME, source makes a bigger difference than amp as long as headphones are getting the power they need and noise floor of amp is low enough for headphones used. In this case, I'm also not sure we can tease apart the contributions of amp and DAC.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084046
Post #848 of 3,525

jasonb

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
4,379
Reaction score
873
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Posts
4,379
Likes
873
Maybe the xba-h3 isnt resolving enough to tell the difference. I can tell the difference with my RE-Zero.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084057
Post #849 of 3,525

Yubacore

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
114
Reaction score
48
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Posts
114
Likes
48
Hardly safe to say that improvement comes from amp instead of DAC. IME, source makes a bigger difference than amp as long as headphones are getting the power they need and noise floor of amp is low enough for headphones used. In this case, I'm also not sure we can tease apart the contributions of amp and DAC.
 
 
Well, if we assume that Slaviola has critical listening skills, and that no technical error comes into play only with his IEMs plugged in (unlikely?), we must also assume that the v10s DAC is not making any difference. Right?
 
I can't find the error in my logic, please explain.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084061
Post #850 of 3,525

Yubacore

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Messages
114
Reaction score
48
Joined
Sep 1, 2015
Posts
114
Likes
48
Maybe the xba-h3 isnt resolving enough to tell the difference. I can tell the difference with my RE-Zero.
 
But they're mid-to-top-tier IEMs, they should be more than good enough? 

 
     Share This Post       
post-12084067
Post #851 of 3,525

warrior1975

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
7,619
Reaction score
1,203
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Posts
7,619
Likes
1,203
Regardless he should still hear a pause in the music when he hits the toggle. I can barely hear the difference at times but there is always a pause in the music for a split second.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084073
Post #852 of 3,525

jasonb

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
4,379
Reaction score
873
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Posts
4,379
Likes
873
But they're mid-to-top-tier IEMs, they should be more than good enough? :confused_face(1):

Could be the listener, could be the music, could be the files, could be a noisy envirenment making it hard to pick out any differences.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084077
Post #853 of 3,525

Roscoeiii

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
1,290
Reaction score
293
Location
Chicagoland
Joined
May 5, 2008
Location
Chicagoland
Posts
1,290
Likes
293
   
 
Well, if we assume that Slaviola has critical listening skills, and that no technical error comes into play only with his IEMs plugged in (unlikely?), we must also assume that the v10s DAC is not making any difference. Right?
 
I can't find the error in my logic, please explain.
Honestly, I'm not sure what is going on there for Slaviola. But if the DAC made little difference, why add it as an option to the phone, instead of just adding the ESS amp? 
 
And in this implementation, as I understand it, the ESS DAC and amp are a package deal, so on this phone, we won't be able to hear the amp without the DAC and vice versa. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084078
Post #854 of 3,525

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
21,128
Reaction score
17,704
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
21,128
Likes
17,704
Could be the listener, could be the music, could be the files, could be a noisy envirenment making it hard to pick out any differences.
In ears monitor without a good sealed tips will just sound like mezzzh
 
     Share This Post       
post-12084146
Post #855 of 3,525

Slaviola

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
15
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Posts
49
Likes
15
Guy's, i think u don't understand me :/
When the "HI-FI" toggle is off, then i press it and change to ON i hear the PAUSE (half of second), but after this, the volume and even quality don't change, but if i put the Sennheiser's (much more impedence) the situation is change dramaticaly - when i press ON of the HI-FI, again i hear the PAUSE, but after this now i can hear the diffrence very well - the volume increase much louder and quality also has improve! This is looking like when i plug the XBA-H3 the toggling ON/OFF HI-FI doesnt change enything (maybe the DAC is active, i only tell that is no changes in sound),but when I plug Sennheiser's headphones the change of toggling ON/OFF work's perfect!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top