KNS 8400 / ATH M-50 / DT 770 / SRH840??
Jun 16, 2012 at 12:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Pson101

New Head-Fier
Hello to my fellow Head-Fiers,

I hate posting for the first time requesting help, but I just found this forum and been reading some threads and it seems like there are so many audiophiles sharing detailed info about a variety of headphones that I had to reach out for your personal input.

I've been producing Hip Hop for 8 years now using DAW's and my trusty KRK monitors, but recently I find myself travelling often so I'm investing in a portable studio. I just bought an SP-404sx sampler to produce on and I need the right cans to go with it. I know that referencing, producing and mixing using headphones and monitors are two very distinct worlds, but I don't really have a choice since I can't bring along my monitors with me to everywhere I go, unfortunately. So I'm looking to get some headphones that will allow me to get a decent mix to present to artists while on the road before I get home and make the final adjustments to the songs in my studio.

That said, I'm completely new to the headphone universe so I've been doing a lot of research and I've narrowed my choices to the KNS 8400, the ATH M-50, the DT 770 and the Shure SRH840. I'm looking for the cans that will give me the closest possible results that a monitor would give me (even though I'm aware none get close by a long shot!). I'm used to the flat response of my KRK monitors so I'm not exactly looking for cans that give me vibrant bass nor a warm sound, but rather a "true", unembellished sound if you know what I mean. Isolation is not an issue for me. Not sure what a headphone amp can do regarding my situation either, but I can look into getting one too if it makes a substantial difference.

Thanks for reading and hopefuly you can help me with your personal experience, I need your input to complete my mobile production studio. Best regards to the Head-Fiers!