Knowledge Zenith (KZ) impressions thread
post-13785578
Post #23,506 of 50,112

Jay Magaling

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Messages
85
Reaction score
110
Joined
Apr 2, 2017
Posts
85
Likes
110
The box on the right is ZS5 v2. I for quite some time thought that I have v1 becouse I could not see second BA. But when I used really strong light source and after many minutes of adjusting I could see that there is indeed 2 circles inside though they are quite deeper in the nozzle then I saw on pics that are posted in this thread. I think that QC is to blame becouse my ZS5 are nowhere near trebles cannons :E Yes they are sharp on silicon tips, but on KZ black sponges + rubber ring on nozzle to secure them tightly ZS5 are just amazing for the price. I have version without the mic and source i connect them to AIM SC808 (4xAD797&AD827) through extender. Though they play really nice and smooth form hp-out of redmi note 4x
Same here. I dont have any issue, treble is not ear-piercing to me even though I could be a basshead sometime. But I do miss the bass from the ZS3, I was having issue with seal on the ZS5 with medium tips, turns out that I need big tips for the ZS5 (M for ZS3). I'm using a Redmi Note 3 as a "dap". The ZS5 made me ditched Viper4Android, or at least depend a lot less on it. I now only use Spectrum Extension (1.0), Dynamic System (Extreme Headphones, 0% bass), AnalogX (Extreme) on V4A.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13785582
Post #23,507 of 50,112

TimeSnow

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
716
Reaction score
619
Location
Dublin
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Location
Dublin
Posts
716
Likes
619
ZS5 V2 owner... no issues with the treble... like all IEMS, headphones, etc., it comes down to the recording... some are super bright, others are dark... that's why God (I assume) evented EQ. :p
 
     Share This Post       
post-13785604
Post #23,508 of 50,112

peskypesky

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 15, 2009
Messages
889
Reaction score
341
Joined
Aug 15, 2009
Posts
889
Likes
341
     Share This Post       
post-13785636
Post #23,509 of 50,112

vector84

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
546
Reaction score
393
Location
Colorado, USA
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Location
Colorado, USA
Posts
546
Likes
393
Not that I'm trying to encourage people to destroy things...

But I noticed elsewhere there's a bunch of chatter about "fixing" the ZS5 v2 by cutting out one of the BAs - advanced version involves desoldering one and ripping it out physically, but almost as effective to just cut the leads to one of them.

Doubt this would work right on the ZS6 due to the crossover, but thanks to some dedicated folks around here, we know that the ZS5 ought to at least continue to function on a basic level even after such things have been done to it :D


So if you have a v2 and really can't stand that treble spike ... :thinking:
 
     Share This Post       
post-13785680
Post #23,510 of 50,112

Art385

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Poland
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Location
Poland
Posts
3
Likes
0
Not that I'm trying to encourage people to destroy things...

But I noticed elsewhere there's a bunch of chatter about "fixing" the ZS5 v2 by cutting out one of the BAs - advanced version involves desoldering one and ripping it out physically, but almost as effective to just cut the leads to one of them.

Doubt this would work right on the ZS6 due to the crossover, but thanks to some dedicated folks around here, we know that the ZS5 ought to at least continue to function on a basic level even after such things have been done to it :D


So if you have a v2 and really can't stand that treble spike ... :thinking:
Did someone measured the ZS5 v2 and confirmed that they are indeed 4 ohm like ZS5 v1 and not 16 ohm like ZS6 or it is just pure speculation? Because if nobody checked it you could encourage someone to actually destroying their set :jecklinsmile: I've read the last 200 pages of this thread and searched on the internet and found nothing on ZS5 v2 beside pure speculation of peoples that have ZS5 v1 and never heard V2 or ZS6 and I take this kind of opinions with huge grain of salt.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13785687
Post #23,511 of 50,112

vector84

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
546
Reaction score
393
Location
Colorado, USA
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Location
Colorado, USA
Posts
546
Likes
393
Did someone measured the ZS5 v2 and confirmed that they are indeed 4 ohm like ZS5 v1 and not 16 ohm like ZS6 or it is just pure speculation? Because if nobody checked it you could encourage someone to actually destroying their set :jecklinsmile: I've read the last 200 pages of this thread and searched on the internet and found nothing on ZS5 v2 beside pure speculation of peoples that have ZS5 v1 and never heard V2 or ZS6 and I take this kind of opinions with huge grain of salt.
I don't own a v2 to confirm, I'm just relaying something rather interesting that I was reading elsewhere...

I haven't found anyone that's posted pictures or a detailed writeup though... just stuff like "my friend ripped out a BA from his, now it sounds as good as my v1" which I agree strongly should be taken with a huge grain of salt.


PS: You should be able to check for the presence of a crossover with just a multimeter - a reading close to 4 ohms DC would strongly suggest the lack of a crossover, while a reading closer to 14 would suggest the presence of one.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13785690
Post #23,512 of 50,112

Wiljen

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
3,508
Reaction score
3,031
Location
TN
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
TN
Posts
3,508
Likes
3,031
Website
audiofool.reviews
Are you talking about the k3 hd or pro? I read here in headfi that the f9 has better imaging and instrument separation
I have the HD and a co-worker has the Pro so some of both. I like the HD a bit better than the pro but it is splitting hairs. I wouldn't rank the F9 above either of them.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: trumpethead
post-13785718
Post #23,514 of 50,112

Art385

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Poland
Joined
Oct 15, 2017
Location
Poland
Posts
3
Likes
0
I don't own a v2 to confirm, I'm just relaying something rather interesting that I was reading elsewhere...

I haven't found anyone that's posted pictures or a detailed writeup though... just stuff like "my friend ripped out a BA from his, now it sounds as good as my v1" which I agree strongly should be taken with a huge grain of salt.


PS: You should be able to check for the presence of a crossover with just a multimeter - a reading close to 4 ohms DC would strongly suggest the lack of a crossover, while a reading closer to 14 would suggest the presence of one.
I have multimeter somewhere in the garage. If I found it I will check the impedance of ZS5 v2
 
     Share This Post       
post-13785762
Post #23,515 of 50,112

SomeGuyDude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
6,591
Reaction score
1,970
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Posts
6,591
Likes
1,970
The box on the right is ZS5 v2. I for quite some time thought that I have v1 becouse I could not see second BA. But when I used really strong light source and after many minutes of adjusting I could see that there is indeed 2 circles inside though they are quite deeper in the nozzle then I saw on pics that are posted in this thread. I think that QC is to blame becouse my ZS5 are nowhere near trebles cannons :E Yes they are sharp on silicon tips, but on KZ black sponges + rubber ring on nozzle to secure them tightly ZS5 are just amazing for the price. I have version without the mic and source i connect them to AIM SC808 (4xAD797&AD827) through extender. Though they play really nice and smooth form hp-out of redmi note 4x
If you only see one circle but it's not centered you definitely have a v2. The v1 BA is obviously only one. I ran into the same issue and someone explained it to me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13785935
Post #23,516 of 50,112

wastan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
395
Reaction score
198
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Posts
395
Likes
198
Of course it would. But that doesn't mean you'll get any results.
Putting stuff in rice only makes sense when you know that the item you want to fix isn't damaged and you havent run electricity thorugh it.

Once you've confirmed that it's damaged putting stuff near rice or silica gel or what have you is an exercise in futility.
It's easier and requires little to no effort. That's why people like it as a solution.

It would also be much more effective to just put it in a hot place.

Rice is incredibly inefficient as a dessicant. It's effectiveness in drying out electronics is mostly urban legend.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13785956
Post #23,517 of 50,112

filltos

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
9
Reaction score
5
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Posts
9
Likes
5
Did someone measured the ZS5 v2 and confirmed that they are indeed 4 ohm like ZS5 v1 and not 16 ohm like ZS6 or it is just pure speculation? Because if nobody checked it you could encourage someone to actually destroying their set :jecklinsmile: I've read the last 200 pages of this thread and searched on the internet and found nothing on ZS5 v2 beside pure speculation of peoples that have ZS5 v1 and never heard V2 or ZS6 and I take this kind of opinions with huge grain of salt.
I did not any measurements, but when i plug V2 version after V1 version, i need to decrease volume almost twice.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13786074
Post #23,518 of 50,112

mono-type

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2017
Messages
1,335
Reaction score
190
Location
Joined
Jul 1, 2017
Location
Posts
1,335
Likes
190
Seems like KZ secretly released a blue version of the ZSE. (Randomly found this on the KZ Official Store)
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/KZ-...id=b000a5fb-d699-4ed4-a2ed-f04575307d83&tpp=1
Nice. It looks cooler with that blue shell (not that the original ZSE isn't cool enough; in fact it's one of KZ's cooler designs IMO). Would definitely get this once it becomes available on my local stores.

Anyway, I already asked this before, but my queries seemed to be ignored. :frowning2: Regarding KZ's aftermarket cables, I recently bought their latest SPC cable last week (the smoke-colored one; the one they call "High Purity OFC cable"). Does this new cable less prone to turning green/oxidation unlike the earlier white v1 SPC cable (or probably the v2 too? Haven't tried the v2 much yet)? My v1 SPC recently started to turn green, maybe because it's rainy season here and hence the air became more humid.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13786084
Post #23,519 of 50,112

Superluc

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
209
Location
EU
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Location
EU
Posts
323
Likes
209
     Share This Post       
post-13786099
Post #23,520 of 50,112

vector84

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
546
Reaction score
393
Location
Colorado, USA
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Location
Colorado, USA
Posts
546
Likes
393
Nice. It looks cooler with that blue shell. Would definitely get this once it becomes available on my local stores.

Anyway, I already asked this before, but my queries seemed to be ignored. :frowning2: Regarding KZ's aftermarket cables, I recently bought their latest SPC cable last week (the smoke-colored one; the one they call "High Purity OFC cable"). Does this new cable less prone to turning green/oxidation unlike the earlier white v1 SPC cable (or probably the v2 too? Haven't tried the v2 much yet)? My v1 SPC recently started to turn green, maybe because it's rainy season here and hence the air became more humid.
Pretty sure most of the greening was taking place over the course of a few months at least...

I'm inclined to think mostly they haven't been around long enough for anyone to tell one way or the other. I ordered one pretty soon after they popped up and I've only had it for about a week . As a few people have already mentioned, if it does happen, it will likely be far less noticeable beneath the much darker sheath.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 16, Guests: 15)

Top