Khadas Tone2 Pro: Mini Desktop DAC with built-in Headphone Amplifier
Dec 22, 2020 at 6:32 AM Post #46 of 241

AtomAmp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
135
Likes
87
Location
Manila
@KHADAS I am going to order the RCA to XLR 0.2m. How can I add this to my Khadas Tone2 Pro that I already ordered so I will not get charged again for shipping?
 
Dec 23, 2020 at 6:59 AM Post #49 of 241

AtomAmp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
135
Likes
87
Location
Manila
Very attractive product and I would definitely consider if I didn't have my current stack.

Im an amp noob but am I missing something? It says 3 stage amplification, can drive demanding cans but output power at 32ohms is 211mW/125mW meanwhile a magni (my current amp) puts out 2.4W at 32 ohms?
Yes, you are missing something. But not with the Khadas Tone2 Pro. Based on specs, it can drive demanding cans. Consider: a typical 32 ohm headphone has 100db sensitivity at 1milliwatt. Now, a +3db increase in spl requires double the power. Meaning at 2milliwatts, you get 103db. At 4 milliwatts, you get 106db. At 8 milliwatts, you get 109db. At 16 milliwatts, you get 112 db. At 32 milliwatts, you get 115db. . . . If the amp can output 211 milliwatts at 32 ohms, then at 211 milliwatts you get 122.9 db.

Even with a headphone with 300ohm impedance, where you get a max of 83milliwatts, you get 115.8db. This translates to 5 volts.

Now, you wouldn't want to listen on headphones at 115db.

Besides, you can connect the Tone2 Pro to your Magni if you think you need more power.
 
Dec 24, 2020 at 6:21 AM Post #50 of 241

Dolores Dolomites

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Posts
139
Likes
238
Location
Italy
This looks almost too good to be true at this price point, and a perfect semi-portable solution for me (lappie + DAC/Amp with the ability to upsample my FLAC library to DSD256).
And it namely _looks_ very good, which gets some extra points!
I'm right on the brink of biting the bullet...

D'you guys with some wider expertise think it's going to _sound_ too bright (as in piercing bright) with some fairly fizzy electrostatic IEMs like I've read before?
Also, will it be able to drive some 300Ω cans decently?

Thank you in advance, and have a Merry Christmas!
 
Dec 24, 2020 at 10:13 AM Post #52 of 241

AtomAmp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
135
Likes
87
Location
Manila
-bright, perhaps, hard to tell in advance
-300ohm cans should be driven fairly well but 150ohm like the HD58x even better
Yeah. Looking forward to my 58X with this. IF it is bright, then the 58X will pair nicely.
 
Dec 31, 2020 at 4:16 AM Post #53 of 241

Dolores Dolomites

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 6, 2020
Posts
139
Likes
238
Location
Italy
Meh.
This product have MQA, I will not buy a single MQA product :).
/me *facepalms* Geese... I don't see why you'd say that, Bastian friend, other than pointless fundamentalism.
Don't like MQA? Look away and don't use it.
Simple as that.

Impressive specs and the ability to upsample my library to DSD256 through HQPlayer will prolly do just fine for me.
Awaiting my black Tone2 Pro unit... (tap a-tee- tap, tap, tap) Can't wait to get my dirty hands on it ! =)
 
Dec 31, 2020 at 4:56 AM Post #54 of 241

monsieurfromag3

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2016
Posts
975
Likes
1,037
Location
a blur
I love how Khadas managed to unlock 768kHz PCM resolution and, more importantly, lower output impedance significantly (0.3 instead of 2.4 Ohm on BAL output!) mere days before launch.
 
Dec 31, 2020 at 5:33 AM Post #55 of 241

AtomAmp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
135
Likes
87
Location
Manila
I love how Khadas managed to unlock 768kHz PCM resolution and, more importantly, lower output impedance significantly (0.3 instead of 2.4 Ohm on BAL output!) mere days before launch.
Amazing, yes. It seems too that it now has optical in. I just can't understand how.
 
Dec 31, 2020 at 8:52 AM Post #57 of 241

AtomAmp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
135
Likes
87
Location
Manila
all that’s left is hearing what it is capable of. (Fingers crossed and waiting in anticipation)
Yeah. My THX 789 is waiting.
 
Dec 31, 2020 at 9:26 AM Post #58 of 241

SenorChang8

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Posts
204
Likes
250
Location
UK
The lower output impedance was the final straw (it’ll suit my IEMs) preordered.

@KHADAS is there an estimated price for the Bluetooth module?
 
Jan 2, 2021 at 2:26 PM Post #59 of 241

AtomAmp

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
135
Likes
87
Location
Manila
Questions for @KHADAS

1. In the email update there is mention of optical in. Can this be confirmed?
2. If we use the bluetooth module in the I2S port, how will the Tone 2 Pro get power? From the other USB port?

Thanks!
 
Jan 4, 2021 at 12:51 AM Post #60 of 241

KHADAS

Sponsor: KHADAS
Joined
Nov 14, 2020
Posts
41
Likes
75
Location
Shenzhen, China
1. In the email update there is mention of optical in. Can this be confirmed?
Nope, the T2P(Tone2 Pro) only supports S/PDIF Coaxial IN, rather then Optical IN.

And to support S/PDIF Coaixal Out feature, you will need to:
1) Upgrade with dedicated firmware(without MQA support)
2) Use Balanced RCA to Stardard SE RCA cable

2. If we use the bluetooth module in the I2S port, how will the Tone 2 Pro get power? From the other USB port?
Yep, both USBC ports can power the T2P.
 
KHADAS Stay updated on KHADAS at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.khadas.com/

Users who are viewing this thread

Top