1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

JH13v2, ES50 or Kaiser?

1. Nifrigel
    Greetings!

I'm looking for some advice on choosing custom IEM. I have some experience with the universal fit IEMs, but never had a CIEM before. This time I definitely want to go with custom fit, because of comfort and isolation issues.

Generally, I prefer neutral tonal balance and as much resolution as possible, most often I also found myself liking what does well on measurements, but that's not always the case. Still, while I'm definitely not a bass head,  I'm fairly tolerant with accent on LF, especially on lower bass, since headphones in general and IEMs in particular can't provide real tactile bass experience.

Among the universal fit IEMs the ones I liked the most were dynamic HiFiMan RE-series with RE0 being my favorite, and single driver BA like Etymotic ER-4p, though comfort was always the issue with the latter. I never liked any of the multi driver BA IEMs, they all seemed to "colored" or unnatural sounding to me, but of course I've listened to only a small portion of them. For my full-size rig I have STAX SR-007 MK1 with KGSSHV and I find its tonal balance and resolution nearly perfect for me.

While I'm still open to any suggestions, I've narrowed my choice down to 3 (4) models.

JH13v2

After reading the famous ToTL Madness review, JH13 Pro FreqPhase would have probably been a no-brainer for me. Regarded as the most neutral of the bunch and among the best in resolution, that seems exactly what I'm looking for. Right away I went to the JH website and there I found this: