Jensen JHF300 vs SoundMagic PL-30?
Sep 17, 2009 at 12:17 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

Mystere9

100+ Head-Fier
I know I'm a complete noob and the last thing you need to do is waste your time checking out a new lo-fi headphone, but let me explain where I'm coming from. Before discovering Head-fi I had these headphones called the Jensen JHF300 for about half a year. I bought them for $15, though I don't doubt you could find them for ten. They're open headphones, 32 ohms impedance, though they sound quieter than the MS-1s from the same source and volume. I still reach for these headphones for casually listening straight from my laptop's HP out, despite having PL-30s and MS-1s(I have 250 ohm DT150s too, but I'm guessing their clarity and speed will improve drastically with a little ampage so I'll omit them here).
dsc00003ce.jpg

dsc00002ae.jpg

dsc00001on.jpg

(Sorry for the complete crap for quality photos, they're from a cheap phone.)

Now these are NOT high quality headphones. From build quality to clarity, there's clearly something missing here. So why do I keep reaching for them when I want to casually listen to music? I'm thinking it's a combination of their lovely sound signature and the fact that they're COMFY.

Keep in mind, I'm listening straight from the HP out of my laptop's default sound card, so when I say that the PL30s have a slight advantage in clarity, that could actually belie a rather large difference in clarity. I've heard that the PL30s scale rather well, and I have no idea how the JHF300s scale since I've never had a better source(I'm hoping that my incoming AMP3 will fix this at least to some extent, and make my DT150s the first thing I reach for when I want to listen). Because of this, I'm evaluating them on sound signature alone and ignoring clarity, instrument separation, and soundstage until I get a better source. Well then, to the actual review:

Build Quality: