Is there any way to have all sounds playing through some headphones, while having Team speak audio play in IEMs that I'd wear under the headphones?
post-10529909
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 5

problematiic

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
16
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Posts
16
Likes
10
I'd like to have music and stuff through some open headphones, for the better sound and so called airy feel, but I also don't want my parents to hear all the swearing and stuff on Team speak whenever she comes near my room. I was wondering if I could have all audio play through the open headphones, while also having the sounds of TS coming through IEMs which I'd wear below the Full-sized headphones. Is this possible? I just don't want to limit myself to closed headphones that's all.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10531227
Post #2 of 5

PETEREK

Member of the Trade: ThePETEREK on Etsy
Previously known as cCasper TFG
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
3,885
Reaction score
819
Location
Holland, Michigan
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Location
Holland, Michigan
Posts
3,885
Likes
819
Wait you want to wear a pair of open headphones and IEMs at the same time? 
 
     Share This Post       
post-10531539
Post #3 of 5

people

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 1, 2014
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 1, 2014
Posts
8
Likes
0
It's possible, but it depends on your setup. You will need to have at least 2 different audio outputs available.
 
This question got me slightly intrigued, so I took a few minutes to connect my Mixamp Pro (2013) to my PC (for the first time ever).
Selecting the Mixamp as Playback Device in TS3 while using Xonar DGX as main output allows for the scenario that you describe. I imagine this would also work with external USB DAC/amps, other Mixamp-like devices or using the headphone out connection of external (active) speaker sets over Optical/SPDIF.
 
Not sure how ideal this kind of solution this is though, or how much of a problem this could actually be. 

 
     Share This Post       
post-10531620
Post #4 of 5

Folex

Member of the Trade: PLAudio
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
967
Reaction score
83
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Posts
967
Likes
83
I know with skype this is an option. In skype it has it own audio mixer. So you could pick ur IEM for skype and then pick your game for the headphones. You obviously would need 2 sound cards/dacs to do this. I'm not sure if teamspeak has these same options. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-10532015
Post #5 of 5

problematiic

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
16
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Posts
16
Likes
10
The DAC/amplifier that I plan on getting has two outputs if that'd work?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top