Is there a setting to normalize volume automatically for everything I play on foobar?
Jun 15, 2014 at 8:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

SilverEars

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Posts
11,248
Likes
4,746
Is there a setting to normalize volume automatically for everything I play on foobar?  So I don't get differences in volume when I switch different set of tracks?
 
Jun 15, 2014 at 8:38 AM Post #2 of 6

WraithApe

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Posts
4,392
Likes
2,283
Location
London, UK
You can use ReplayGain on Foobar to achieve normalization. If you select the files you want to normalize, right click and choose 'Scan selection as albums (by tags)', this will add replay gain settings to the ID3 tags of these files (as opposed to modifying the actual file content), then you go to Preferences > Playback and select the Source Mode and Processing type. I should warn you though, if you have a large library, the first step of adding ReplayGain info to the tags will take a long time!
 
Jun 15, 2014 at 8:43 AM Post #3 of 6

SilverEars

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Posts
11,248
Likes
4,746
  You can use ReplayGain on Foobar to achieve normalization. If you select the files you want to normalize, right click and choose 'Scan selection as albums (by tags)', this will add replay gain settings to the ID3 tags of these files (as opposed to modifying the actual file content), then you go to Preferences > Playback and select the Source Mode and Processing type. I should warn you though, if you have a large library, the first step of adding ReplayGain info to the tags will take a long time!

frown.gif
  No way to set the player to do it automatically everytime without messing with the gain on the tags?  On portable players there are options to normalize volume, not for foobar?
 
Jun 15, 2014 at 8:52 AM Post #4 of 6

WraithApe

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Posts
4,392
Likes
2,283
Location
London, UK
 
frown.gif
  No way to set the player to do it automatically everytime without messing with the gain on the tags?  On portable players there are options to normalize volume, not for foobar?

 
A global normalization function? Not that I've ever found - but I'm by no means a Foobar expert so maybe someone else can chip in. I agree track- or album-based ReplayGain is a PITA. So much so that I don't bother trying to equalize loudness on Foobar any more - I just keep one hand on the volume control instead :frowning2:
 
Jun 16, 2014 at 12:33 AM Post #5 of 6

ab initio

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 1, 2013
Posts
854
Likes
140
  Is there a setting to normalize volume automatically for everything I play on foobar?  So I don't get differences in volume when I switch different set of tracks?


Are you using album-based or track-based replaygain? Using song-based gain settings should result in the tracks having more normalized volume when you've got a large library on shuffle.
 
cheers
 
Jun 16, 2014 at 3:27 AM Post #6 of 6

castleofargh

Sound Science Forum Moderator
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Posts
9,307
Likes
4,671
+1 for gain by tracks if you shuffle. it's not perfect, but I can't say that the sony normalizer really does a better job. sometimes you would have to accept clipping to get a really balanced sound level, because the dynamic differences are just too great(or maybe use a compressor before scanning for replay gain, but it would mess with the songs). I vote for no clipping, and some volume discrepancies with gain by tracks.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top