Is ground required on KG amp?
post-196977
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 8

fyleow

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
516
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Posts
516
Likes
10
I have half of the amp itself built right now and i want to test to see if it works. No PSU done yet. I was thinking of just wiring 2 9V batteries in a series and hook it up as the power source. Can i just hook up the ground to something like my computer case?
 
     Share This Post       
post-197071
Post #2 of 8

fyleow

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
516
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Posts
516
Likes
10
hmmm cap exploded....must have did something wrong...
 
     Share This Post       
post-197161
Post #3 of 8

CaptBubba

Not dumb enough fora custom title...so he thought.
Joined
Jun 30, 2001
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 30, 2001
Posts
1,615
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally posted by fyleow
hmmm cap exploded....must have did something wrong...


Lol, that has to be one of the funniest posts I have read here.

Hope you figure out the problem.
 
     Share This Post       
post-197230
Post #4 of 8

gavinbirss

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2001
Messages
83
Reaction score
11
Joined
Oct 19, 2001
Posts
83
Likes
11
Hello fyleow

What cap exploded.

If the a cap exploded it may be due to one or both of two reasons.

Over voltage. (check the specs of the cap : you can overvoltage by 20 % but performance will suffer)

Reverse polarity. A extrolytic cap is polarity sensative.

You could have used the junction between the two 9V batteries as ground or a simple resistor devidor. (the ground will be the point between the two resistors).

Hope that helps

Gavin
 
     Share This Post       
post-197239
Post #5 of 8

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
Quote:

Lol, that has to be one of the funniest posts I have read here.


CaptBubba:

I'm sure fyleow didn't find it so amusing.
 
     Share This Post       
post-197593
Post #6 of 8

fyleow

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
516
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Posts
516
Likes
10
Well the cap didn't explode, it leaked though and started fizzling. It was one of the 4700 micro farad caps for the power supply. It's not overvolted, those are 100V and the max current is probably 60ish. Pretty sure I reversed the polarities, the caps doesn't fit the board so I was just messing with it using alligator clips. Bad idea...

I need to get new caps though, about 60V should do I think but rat shack doesn't sell them. Needed to get them replaced anyway, they were too large to fit on the PCB.

It was actually pretty scary and now I'm out $32. Bah.
 
     Share This Post       
post-197637
Post #7 of 8

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
Quote:

...now I'm out $32. Bah.


Were those Blackgates or somethin?


Exactly where were those caps in the circuit?

I wish to apologize if you were offended by me and CaptBubba(?) making light of your situation. I assure you it was not out of mean spiritedness. It was just the way CaptBubba deadpanned: "Lol, that has to be one of the funniest posts I have read here.", I just couldn't help my self. Sorry.

I wish I knew more about the KG so I could give you hand. Perhaps one of the other KG diy-er's, could help you.

Good luck.
 
     Share This Post       
post-197656
Post #8 of 8

fyleow

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
516
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Posts
516
Likes
10
No offense taken, I bought the wrong things anyway. The caps were $8 each and there's 4 so it's 32 bucks, I had to buy new ones either way though.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top