iPod + iMod +amp vs. D2+ = SQ confusion!
Jun 30, 2009 at 3:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Chudalicious

100+ Head-Fier
Hi everyone - kind of new here so please bear with my ramblings. . .

Being a total NooB to the audiophile world, I have stepped up my game one piece at a time from ipod, to se530s to all lossless to D2+ to RSA p-51 amp and most recently, AKG 702s. That said, I have some questions regarding the SQ between an unmodded iPod, a RWA iMod and amp and the D2+ as shown below:
  1. I find the iPod Touch 2nd gen and the 5.5 80gb video (w/amp and w/o in mp4a) to be VERY boring (via HO) with NO bass and little detail - flat almost.
  1. In fact, I absolutely prefer the D2+ and would ditch the iPods altogether BUT (BIG BUTT) I LOVE iTunes and all my music is in Apple Lossless which syncs with a 320gb Apple TV to my main, home rig.
  1. This means maintaining two separate libraries, which is a tedious process. I CANNOT use Jetaudio as I have a Mac and tirelessly tried to find an app that would allow synching - I even tried using Parallels to get a PC interface and install Mediamonkey, Jetshell and a slew of others but no luck as the Mac USB would not recognize nor sync. Drag and drop is SO tedious that I cannot go on changing files across all these platforms every time I add or update my music.

BOTTOM LINE: I want to sell my D2+ but will miss the great bass, SQ and EQ settings in hopes that an iMod and LOD + amp will produce a similar soundstage and great low bass with my se530s. Don't want to drop the $$$ on the iMod if no hope is in sight.

Can anyone who has heard both the RWA iMod AND the D2 let me know if this is a pipe dream or if I should try to continue to support multiple libraries. If so, any ideas on how to sync the D2+ on a MAC without drag and drop?

Thanks so much, sorry for the lengthy post!

Jun 30, 2009 at 3:39 PM Post #3 of 9