Installing IEC Socket
Oct 13, 2009 at 11:06 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Posts
65
Likes
10
Hi, i'm planning on getting an upgraded iec socket for my keces 151 mk2. I was wondering if it is plug and play or is there a step by step process i should go about do so?
 
Oct 13, 2009 at 11:24 PM Post #3 of 11

ericj

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Posts
8,262
Likes
147
Maybe he means an IEC socket with an integral P-I filter?

In which case, uh, hook up hot to hot, neutral to neutral, and earth to earth - unless there is no earth.
 
Oct 14, 2009 at 1:17 AM Post #4 of 11

Tridacnid

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 10, 2007
Posts
1,053
Likes
10
Unplug the device before you do this.
wink.gif
 
Oct 14, 2009 at 2:17 AM Post #5 of 11

m1abrams

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Posts
833
Likes
11
Looking at photos of the internals of the keces 151 mk2 it does not appear to have a simple IEC. The transformer connects to a PCB that has a fuse and probably a switch for allowing the IEC to work on 115 or 240 VAC. So you will need to know the windings for the transformer so that you either wire them in series or parallel depending on your voltage requirement.

Also make sure your new IEC is fused since you most likely will not be able to reuse that board.

Why are you changing the IEC, is the current one broken?
 
Oct 15, 2009 at 1:51 AM Post #6 of 11

tintin47

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Posts
2,007
Likes
13
Make sure that you upgrade to an iec socket with silver contacts instead of 24k gold. I tried gold contacts on my iec socket but I found that it rolled off the highs when compared with the silver. It did give my ck2III a slightly warmer, more tubey overall sound, but the difference was not night and day.
 
Oct 15, 2009 at 3:54 PM Post #7 of 11

MASantos

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Posts
2,436
Likes
38
Quote:

Originally Posted by tintin47 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Make sure that you upgrade to an iec socket with silver contacts instead of 24k gold. I tried gold contacts on my iec socket but I found that it rolled off the highs when compared with the silver. It did give my ck2III a slightly warmer, more tubey overall sound, but the difference was not night and day.


this is a joke right??
 
Oct 15, 2009 at 7:37 PM Post #8 of 11

MoodySteve

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Posts
713
Likes
12
Unless the IEC module you're planning to swap in has the same dimensions as the one it's replacing, getting a good fit is going to be difficult. You can always use a subplate, however.

I'm with fallenangel on this one - I don't think this is a worthwhile upgrade, especially considering the effort involved and potential to mess your unit up.
 
Oct 15, 2009 at 7:47 PM Post #10 of 11

crapback

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Posts
362
Likes
11
I thought green was the best for soundstage? What happens if you mix up the colors on the male and female ends?
 
Oct 15, 2009 at 7:48 PM Post #11 of 11

tintin47

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Posts
2,007
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally Posted by MASantos /img/forum/go_quote.gif
this is a joke right??


yes. Its hard to tell sometimes considering the tweaks people install on their gear.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top