iFi audio ZEN Stream - Streaming elevated to a higher plane
Jan 26, 2022 at 10:22 PM Post #3,496 of 4,909

Mr BubbaHyde

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
1,414
Likes
1,286
Location
US
You wanna know why people have problems with some of these units??

1. They didn't take there time seeing it up there first time, I see taking the ZS right out off the box plugging it in, and then quick find a forum it's not working!

2. Everybody thinks their inn home WiFi is the cat's meow! It works with this why shouldn't it work with the new one! And never ever reboot a modem Or router! When you ask them about it they tell you how fast it is.

3. When those few do find a forum reading even 1 page back to see if someone else has a fix Is beyond them, it's file complaint, and stomp feet! And along those lines when someone does point out what's wrong or gives a solution, not one of these Wah Wahs had the decency to come back and say thank you!!

I'm ready 🤣🤣 Bring it!!

Cheers!!
 
Jan 26, 2022 at 10:27 PM Post #3,497 of 4,909

smartplug

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 15, 2021
Posts
204
Likes
60
Location
usa
You wanna know why people have problems with some of these units??

1. They didn't take there time seeing it up there first time, I see taking the ZS right out off the box plugging it in, and then quick find a forum it's not working!

2. Everybody thinks their inn home WiFi is the cat's meow! It works with this why shouldn't it work with the new one! And never ever reboot a modem Or router! When you ask them about it they tell you how fast it is.

3. When those few do find a forum reading even 1 page back to see if someone else has a fix Is beyond them, it's file complaint, and stomp feet! And along those lines when someone does point out what's wrong or gives a solution, not one of these Wah Wahs had the decency to come back and say thank you!!

I'm ready 🤣🤣 Bring it!!

Cheers!!
I have mine connected via Ethernet. The only issue I had was Spotify connect via usb but the latest firmware solve the problem.
 
Jan 26, 2022 at 11:16 PM Post #3,498 of 4,909

Wakalaaa

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 12, 2021
Posts
31
Likes
13
Location
HongKong
A very unfortunate incident happened recently. My zen stream and dac 70s usb were broken. I sent Zs to the agent for repair and said that it needs to be sent to the UK. I'm using an ipower X 12v power supply, it shouldn't be a problem with ipower, but I don't know what's wrong with my system. I hope ifi can provide me with a warranty, I like ifi products, during this time I found a new dac from ifi, zen one signature, I plan to temporarily replace my broken d70s, I don't know what fine chip is used for one signature, d70s is dual 4497, will this be largely downgrade?
 
Jan 27, 2022 at 2:09 PM Post #3,501 of 4,909

ali4ek

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Posts
17
Likes
9
Tidal Connect/USB flac with mqa, do not play correct

Playing flac files from USB, some are 24bit 48Khz with mqa encoding.
The dac connected using USB, the dac while playing switches from 48 to 96 KHz every 2 seconds (no sound when switching).

The same problem when playing some tracks using tidal connect.

With coax output I don't have this problem (but also no full mqa decoding because the dac does not support mqa on the coax input).
No such problem on any firmware version.
DAC SMSL M500 connected to ZS USB, decoding MQA fine, using Tidal Connect from my iPhone 12.
No sound interruptions, no glitches etc.

The likely reason is how ZS interacts with your particular DAC.
 
Jan 27, 2022 at 4:24 PM Post #3,503 of 4,909

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,633
Likes
3,358
Location
Germany
hey guys, I don't remember. Is the ZS able to send the signal both to COAX and USB at the same time?
Can I connect 2 DACs simultaneously?
You need to decide.
COAX is disabled once you connect USB.
You can switch the inputs in the Zen Stream settings.
 
Jan 27, 2022 at 4:56 PM Post #3,506 of 4,909

Mr BubbaHyde

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
1,414
Likes
1,286
Location
US
Nope you can't!
Yes actually you can!

If you are using Roon then the 2 outputs can be set as zones. But only using Roon as far as I know!

Cheers!!
 
Jan 27, 2022 at 4:56 PM Post #3,507 of 4,909

sabloke

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Posts
1,530
Likes
884
Location
Adelaide, Australia
Nope you can't!
I don't think that's right. In Roon I can stream to both USB and coax simultaneously and then play on either inputs on my DAC. No way for me to check as I don't have two DACs though but going back and forth USB/coax on my unit plays just fine and different songs, too.
 
Jan 27, 2022 at 7:30 PM Post #3,509 of 4,909

ckhirnigs113

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2005
Posts
1,394
Likes
1,868
Got my Zen Stream today. Setup was straightforward over WiFi with no issues. Tidal Connect worked immediately without any further tinkering. I even switched to mode 3 (Tidal only) while the ZS was powered on and playback resumed without a hiccup.

I thought I’d just post this to show there are many people having zero issues with setting this thing up and using it straight out of the box. Quick question, if I only plan to use Tidal Connect and USB output to my DAC, is there any reason for me to update to the newest firmware? I’m of the opinion that “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.” If there’s a legit reason to update, I’m all ears.
 
Jan 27, 2022 at 8:57 PM Post #3,510 of 4,909

Mr BubbaHyde

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
1,414
Likes
1,286
Location
US
Got my Zen Stream today. Setup was straightforward over WiFi with no issues. Tidal Connect worked immediately without any further tinkering. I even switched to mode 3 (Tidal only) while the ZS was powered on and playback resumed without a hiccup.

I thought I’d just post this to show there are many people having zero issues with setting this thing up and using it straight out of the box. Quick question, if I only plan to use Tidal Connect and USB output to my DAC, is there any reason for me to update to the newest firmware? I’m of the opinion that “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.” If there’s a legit reason to update, I’m all ears.
Personally, I'm with you, off it ain't broke...

Don't think I have ever updated a firmware so much as I have with the ZS! Just trying to help in this thread, or I would probably still have 2.25 😂😂😂

Cheers!!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top