iFi audio iDSD Diablo - A portable reference done our way!
Apr 20, 2021 at 5:23 PM Post #1,276 of 2,429

Convolver

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Posts
25
Likes
20
Location
New Mexico
My Diablo works fine on a stock 7.0 firmware. All led colors are correct: mqa - green, mqa studio - blue. Running it out of ROCK on NUC (Roon Linux based OS).
My early serial numbered unit came back from service today after they "flashed the PCB" to fix the LED color issue. The good news is that now MQA always shows magenta, where before it seemed to be randomly yellow or whatever.

I tested Diablo using PCM only (no DSD) to discover that indicator colors have changed, but are still not correct:

44kHz and 48kHz files result in a yellow LED, not green as described in the literature.

Other sampling rates produce white, not green (88,96), and not yellow (176, 192, 352) as described.

I did not try 384kHz (supposed to be yellow) or 768kHz (supposed to be white).

All could be forgiven if the promised MQA decoding through SPDIF input had been enabled, but that didn't happen, either. Oh well.

EDIT: I do get green with basic MQA and blue with MQA Studio at any sampling rate (as qsk78 says above) when not using DSP after Roon does the first unfold.
 
Last edited:
Apr 20, 2021 at 5:31 PM Post #1,277 of 2,429

Dgowland

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 17, 2021
Posts
4
Likes
3
Location
Washington
Any news regarding incorrect mqa led behaviour? My unit shows yellow led when playing "second level" mqa (green dot). MQA Studio (blue dot) led status is shown correctly - Magenta. Changing dac setting from decoder to renderer when playing "green dot" mqa corrects led to magenta but also alters the sound slightly when used with ASIO driver. My question is if this is only issue of correct led status, or is it a firmware issue and "green dot" mqa's are not decoded at all - therefore no magenta...
Another point of interest, when playing mqa 24/192 audirvana shows 32/48 at the dac's end with asio driver.
I had this issue for a couple of days. After some tinkering with settings and downloading USB Audio Player with the MQA add-on it was fixed straight away.
 
Apr 20, 2021 at 7:19 PM Post #1,278 of 2,429

Convolver

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 15, 2021
Posts
25
Likes
20
Location
New Mexico
QUESTION: When firmware with the GTO filter is used, do we still enjoy the same MQA benefits plus whatever GTO brings to the table for non-MQA material? Or does that firmware produce a different sound from MQA files as well?

I am running version 7.0 and would rather not change it unless others are reporting significant improvements across the board.
 
Last edited:
Apr 20, 2021 at 10:23 PM Post #1,279 of 2,429

justanut

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Posts
1,216
Likes
1,591
Location
Singapore
QUESTION: When firmware with the GTO filter is used, do we still enjoy the same MQA benefits plus whatever GTO brings to the table for non-MQA material? Or does that firmware produce a different sound from MQA files as well?

I am running version 7.0 and would rather not change it unless others are reporting significant improvements across the board.
Difficult to say which sounds better unless someone rocks 2 Diablos with different firmwares. I’ve tried flashing to n fro. But auditory memory is fleeting.
 
Apr 21, 2021 at 12:57 AM Post #1,280 of 2,429

qsk78

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 30, 2013
Posts
1,950
Likes
1,073
Location
Russia
EDIT: I do get green with basic MQA and blue with MQA Studio at any sampling rate (as qsk78 says above) when not using DSP after Roon does the first unfold.
Mine is a Decoder and Renderer in settings, so no Roon involvement into unfolding process

22.PNG
 
Apr 21, 2021 at 5:10 AM Post #1,281 of 2,429

Bob Parish

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 17, 2016
Posts
191
Likes
103
Location
Brasil
QUESTION: When firmware with the GTO filter is used, do we still enjoy the same MQA benefits plus whatever GTO brings to the table for non-MQA material? Or does that firmware produce a different sound from MQA files as well?

I am running version 7.0 and would rather not change it unless others are reporting significant improvements across the board.
7.0 sounds way better than GTO 7.0c. Period!
I compared both firmwares sound a few posts above...
 
Last edited:
Apr 21, 2021 at 7:20 AM Post #1,282 of 2,429
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Posts
13,449
Likes
8,962
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
QUESTION: When firmware with the GTO filter is used, do we still enjoy the same MQA benefits plus whatever GTO brings to the table for non-MQA material? Or does that firmware produce a different sound from MQA files as well?

MQA can't be processed in any way to remain MQA, which is why our GTO filter doesn't affect it.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
Apr 21, 2021 at 10:12 AM Post #1,285 of 2,429

qsk78

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 30, 2013
Posts
1,950
Likes
1,073
Location
Russia
You must also have “Enable MQA core decoder” turned off in Roon audio settings. Otherwise, Diablo will act as a renderer.
Ok. Got it. Now it is fully on Diablo side)

ewe.PNG
 
Last edited:
Apr 21, 2021 at 1:12 PM Post #1,286 of 2,429
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Posts
3,305
Likes
4,476
Location
Southern California

Users who are viewing this thread

Top