IEM recommendation for iPod, $100 limit
Jan 7, 2008 at 11:33 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 30

HiWire

Headphoneus Supremus
Hey guys,

Sorry to add to the noise ratio, but I've got a friend who is looking for an IEM for his iPod (5th Gen?). He says up to about $100 is fine. I've been here for a while, but I have no experience with IEMs.

So far, I've put a short list together:

Etymotic ER-6 - $139 (bit of a stretch)
Creative Aurvana - $135
Shure SE-110 - $120
Westone UM-1 - $109
Ultimate Ears metro.fi 2 - $80
Jays d-Jays - $99
Sony EX90LP - $96
JBL Reference 220 - $100
Audio-Technica CK7 - $87

Am I missing anything important from this list? He listens mostly to blues and classic rock... let me know if you have any listening impressions to add.

Thanks!

Jan 7, 2008 at 11:48 PM Post #2 of 30
If your friend is willing to stretch, Ultimate Ears Super Fi 5 Pro Red - $139.99, wonderful, wonderful earphone, I'd def tell them save up the extra $40 for these!

If they are tight on budget, the $9 extra to UM1s will be awesome as well!

Jan 8, 2008 at 6:44 AM Post #5 of 30
Quote:

Originally Posted by FeedMeTrance /img/forum/go_quote.gif
If your friend is willing to stretch, Ultimate Ears Super Fi 5 Pro Red - $139.99, wonderful, wonderful earphone, I'd def tell them save up the extra $40 for these!

x2 for the ue superfi.5 pro, though pick other colors
icon10.gif

Jan 8, 2008 at 1:01 PM Post #8 of 30
I HIGHLY recommend the Audio Technica CK7! It's truly an amazing canalphone, one of the best their is! I just ordered my 3rd pair!

Also you should look closely at the Denon AH-C700 since they seem about in the same league as the CK7's. They got alot of positive reviews also but i still recommend the CK7's highly since they are highly regarded for a reason! Believe me the CK7 won't dissapoint!

Jan 8, 2008 at 10:12 PM Post #9 of 30
Denon -> good overall phone, may not be the most comfortable or have the best fit though.