IE8 recable?
Jun 6, 2009 at 10:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

R3SET

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Posts
144
Likes
10
Hi guys.

Would it be possible to recable the Sennheiser ie8?

The problem is the plug:

sennheiser_ie-8_4.jpg
 
Jun 7, 2009 at 12:48 AM Post #2 of 14

Bonthouse

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Posts
1,366
Likes
11
What are you looking for exactly? Hardwiring it or replacing it with a better sounding cable?
 
Jun 7, 2009 at 1:53 AM Post #4 of 14

Bonthouse

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Posts
1,366
Likes
11
But didn't that went bad?
tongue.gif

If the UE pins work, that should work with a little shaving here and there.
 
Jun 7, 2009 at 1:54 AM Post #5 of 14

cyberspyder

Caution! Incomplete trades.
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Posts
1,993
Likes
23
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bonthouse /img/forum/go_quote.gif
But didn't that went bad?
tongue.gif

If the UE pins work, that should work with a little shaving here and there.



very_evil_smiley.gif
very_evil_smiley.gif
very_evil_smiley.gif


LOL Yeah it went bad, but that was the headphone's fault, not the connector or the cable.
biggrin.gif
 
Jun 7, 2009 at 7:10 AM Post #6 of 14

Juaquin

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 20, 2008
Posts
1,014
Likes
11
I wouldn't mess with those cables (especially connectors) unless you're already broken the cable. That supposed extra sound quality from "premium" wire probably isn't worth destroying your cable/buds.
 
Jun 7, 2009 at 7:38 AM Post #7 of 14

Good Times

Member of the Trade: Krispy Kables
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Posts
426
Likes
11
You'd think you could get replacement connectors so you can build a new cable.....but I haven't seen them around. Annoying.
 
Jun 7, 2009 at 7:14 PM Post #8 of 14

R3SET

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
Posts
144
Likes
10
Maybe it's possible to order a new cable from sennheiser and destroy these to get the connector. But to get the cables in the connector, i will have to cut the connector into two pieces and glue it back together, something that can go wrong very easily i think, and it's ugly.

I thought; maybe these pins and connectors are something used in other headphones as well and available somewhere, but that does not seem the case. I guess i have to wait for Null Audio or some other company to come with replacement cable.
 
Aug 12, 2009 at 7:02 PM Post #10 of 14

cn11

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2003
Posts
4,878
Likes
548
I went to Null Audio's site to check out the IE8 cable, and saw 'sold out', or 'unavailable' (forget which), and thought 'damn, gone already'? So I emailed their sales to get the scoop as to when they'd be out again, and got this response:

_________________________________________

Hi,

The IE8 cable was supposed to be released this month. However, we are experiencing some technical and tuning difficulties on it.

The project has been postponed indefinitely.

Please watch out our website for updates.

Best Regards,

Kevin K. Wang

Null Audio Studio
#22-2-449
10 Nanyang Drive
Singapore 637720
Null Audio Studio
sales@null-audio.net
 
Jul 30, 2010 at 4:49 PM Post #12 of 14

violinvirtuoso

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Posts
1,031
Likes
20
I'm pretty sure Whiplash Audio has made (or is making) a TWag cable for the IE8s. PM SACD-Man.
 
Aug 13, 2010 at 12:37 AM Post #14 of 14

vrenlos

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Posts
44
Likes
11
Has anyone gone about actually measuring the spacing and diameter of the pins?  They look like, to my eye, standard .1" spacing.  In this case you could probably use a plain old 2-pin molex type (or other generic) connector so long as there is no surrounding sheathing/plastic.
 
Just my two cents.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top