I need your help: DAC and soundcard request
Dec 11, 2017 at 8:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

GabrielBosky

New Head-Fier
Hello to everybody and, particularly who will be so patient to read and give me some tips!
As I wrote in my presentation, I'm new in audiophile world, and I arrived here casually: I was guitar player for a long time and I bought a pair of Beyerdynamic DT990pro 250 for studying sessions and it don't sound too bad with a simple creative xfi fatal1ty soundcard with "platinum series" front connectors.
Obviously the headphones sounds better with a an hold kenwood hi fi.
Now I transferred from my town to my actual base: new work, new life. No time for guitar but more time to listen music but I decided to invest some money in something new (I leave the DT990 in my old home so i have something new to lesten well).

SO

I bought a pair of Sennheiser HD650 after some other ""headphones"" and the decision to change my soundcard.
So I bought the Creative X7 limited (at good price) and early i had to buy an headphone amplifier: my decision was the Valhalla 2 from Schiit!
My best choose ever... Not for my wallet for shure! I discovered a new world and I started to pretend more from what I listen and the sound arrive to me.
I like, Valhalla with HD 650 but I have the impression they are very limited with my soundcard.

WHERE IS THE POINT?
I hear as the music is little tight, hold in little space, specially if I don't use the direct mode.
With direct mode the sound seems to clear and certainly more natural, i loose some bass power but i gain in their definition!
What about this card as DAC? I chose it for is 127db SNR and its 24/192 asynchronous system but maybe this was a bad choose! I am in the return period so I want your advice: I think to buy the Schiit Gungnir Multibit as DAC...

In this way I hope to gain in sound spatiality and instruments separation. Better quality... Can be this the right way?!