I need some help (probably from an experienced ~iFi Xcan~ owner)
post-15796994
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 10

ViolinsNVolta

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Posts
42
Likes
11
Im kind of a noob and I need some help here-
I have the Fiio M11 DAP and I’ve got the iFi Xcan amp coming to me tomorrow. I thought I had everything handled, but as I continued to read up on the connectivity/pairing with the Xcan amp with various DAP’s I became really confused (I am also extremely tired and my brain is shutting down).
So the Xcan has 2.5 to 2.5 balanced connectors, and 3.5 to 3.5 single end connectors for pairing to a DAP, thus having both 2.5 balanced inputs and outputs and 3.5 inputs and outputs.
The Fiio M11 DAP has 2.5 and 4.4 balanced headphones ports and a 3.5 port for unbalanced headphones.
So my question: which connectors do I use to pair the DAP to amp and into which ports? Once again, sorry
Thx in advance
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15797262
Post #2 of 10

silent-circuit

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
262
Reaction score
69
Location
Charleston, SC
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Location
Charleston, SC
Posts
262
Likes
69
Not familiar with that amp specifically. Some require you use the balanced input to get balanced output, single ended input to get se output. Some will drive both outputs regardless of the input used. So long as you have a 2.5 to 2.5 and 3.5 to 3.5 cable you'll be fine. A minute of experimentation will make it clear.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15797812
Post #3 of 10

ViolinsNVolta

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Posts
42
Likes
11
Not familiar with that amp specifically. Some require you use the balanced input to get balanced output, single ended input to get se output. Some will drive both outputs regardless of the input used. So long as you have a 2.5 to 2.5 and 3.5 to 3.5 cable you'll be fine. A minute of experimentation will make it clear.
Here is the same question with maybe easier answer. I know the 3.5 LO on the FiiO DAP is obviously for headphones AND also used as a LO to connect to my FiiO A5 amp... So Ive just bought (1st time owner) balanced headphones with 2.5 jack that obviously connect to 2.5 LO in DAP. I just want to cfm that the 2.5 balanced headphone port can be used in the same manner as the 3.5 port- in that I can use that 2.5 port as a balanced LO to connect to my balanced amp?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15797867
Post #4 of 10

silent-circuit

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
262
Reaction score
69
Location
Charleston, SC
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Location
Charleston, SC
Posts
262
Likes
69
So far as I know, yes. Even if it's a "headphone out" you can just reduced the volume on the DAP and use the amp volume control.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15797896
Post #5 of 10

ViolinsNVolta

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Posts
42
Likes
11
So far as I know, yes. Even if it's a "headphone out" you can just reduced the volume on the DAP and use the amp volume control.
Cool thanks. So like the 3.5 line out, I’ll just lose the ability to control the vol from DAP.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15798296
Post #6 of 10

Mightygrey

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
784
Reaction score
777
Location
Sydney, Australia.
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Location
Sydney, Australia.
Posts
784
Likes
777
Website
www.headfonia.com
For best results, use a male 2.5mm to 2.5mm cable from the DAP to the X-Can, set your DAP's volume to 100% and control volume from the X-Can.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15798326
Post #7 of 10

ViolinsNVolta

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Posts
42
Likes
11
For best results, use a male 2.5mm to 2.5mm cable from the DAP to the X-Can, set your DAP's volume to 100% and control volume from the X-Can.
Thanks
I understand when they are paired up the volume will be controlled by the amp. Can I ask what setting the vol to 100% on the Dap does not exactly? Just trying to learn these little bits of info...much appreciated!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15798336
Post #8 of 10

Mightygrey

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
784
Reaction score
777
Location
Sydney, Australia.
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Location
Sydney, Australia.
Posts
784
Likes
777
Website
www.headfonia.com
Having your source volume as high as possible (or at line level) means that your signal to noise ratio is as low as possible. If you have your DAP's volume at 5% (for example), you'd need to turn your amp waaaay-up, meaning noise and distortion becomes amplified.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15798355
Post #9 of 10

ViolinsNVolta

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Posts
42
Likes
11
Having your source volume as high as possible (or at line level) means that your signal to noise ratio is as low as possible. If you have your DAP's volume at 5% (for example), you'd need to turn your amp waaaay-up, meaning noise and distortion becomes amplified.
Much thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15800777
Post #10 of 10

iFi audio

Sponsor: iFi Audio
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
7,497
Reaction score
4,096
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Posts
7,497
Likes
4,096
Website
ifi-audio.com
For best results, use a male 2.5mm to 2.5mm cable from the DAP to the X-Can, set your DAP's volume to 100% and control volume from the X-Can.
Exactly. a DAC's volume control should be bypassed, which in most cases is done by pushing it all the way up, and an amp's volume is the only one needed.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top