Hugo TT 2 by Chord Electronics - The Official Thread
Aug 9, 2021 at 3:56 PM Post #14,596 of 14,937

Gadget67

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 28, 2012
Posts
1,114
Likes
1,818
Yeah, Audirvana is excellent for Mac and I’m happy to own v3.5 without the need for a subscription; I suspect if you don’t need qobuz or tidal integration it should continue working with local content for a long time. However, it lacks some modern features and the sound quality is surpassed by linux players. Once Spotify Hifi becomes available I think it’s another nail in the coffin as volumio and moode have great spotify integrations (volumio has full Spotify integration in the UI).
I have about a terabyte of music in my own collection. I’ll be trying the various free trials out there (Qobuz, Apple, Spotify, etc) but I’m not in a hurry. I generally don’t listen for more than an hour or two a day but when winter (or, God forbid, another lockdown) arrives my listening time will increase. Audirvana is fine for now, though.
 
Aug 9, 2021 at 4:41 PM Post #14,597 of 14,937

teknorob23

Member of the Trade: Network Acoustics
Joined
Feb 28, 2018
Posts
1,607
Likes
1,814
Location
UK
Thanks for all the replies.

I must have been incorrectly under the impression optical wasn't able to support the higher resolution files greater than 24/96 and DSD. I have as few DSD and 192/24

So must get USB streamer... Will need to get something on the cheap until after we move.

Look at a pi2es or allo usb bridge signature, you should hear significant i
Improvements for less than $300
 
Aug 11, 2021 at 8:29 AM Post #14,602 of 14,937

dima183

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Posts
7
Likes
0
Location
Moscow
Question to Rob, please tell me, I have aurender H100sc, it has two outputs: usb and coax. Dac holo spring 2 is connected via usb, and I want to connect TT 2 via coax. Will this be correct for TT 2? Let’s say, when TT is turned off by the button in standby mode, and holo is working, the coax signal will all the same go to the TT.
 
Aug 11, 2021 at 10:29 AM Post #14,603 of 14,937

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,664
Likes
8,197
Question to Rob, please tell me, I have aurender H100sc, it has two outputs: usb and coax. Dac holo spring 2 is connected via usb, and I want to connect TT 2 via coax. Will this be correct for TT 2? Let’s say, when TT is turned off by the button in standby mode, and holo is working, the coax signal will all the same go to the TT.
TT2's coax input receiver is still powered up and working when in standby, so there is no problem at all in doing this.
 
Aug 11, 2021 at 1:19 PM Post #14,604 of 14,937

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
4,092
Likes
1,509
When I was auditioning the Hugo TT 2, I tried it with and without the M Scaler. The latter works as intended - it adds a tinge of clarity and detail throughout; this is most apparent in the treble - there was a greater projection of air and sizzle. Sadly (or thankfully, in this case), the added treble presence was a little too much to bear; I'm a little sensitive to hyper-prominent highs.

I'm not discounting the purchase of an M Scaler in the near future. However, at this current juncture, I'll put some of that extra funds into purchasing an amplifier instead.

Still, the M Scaler is a fantastic piece of technology - for those seeking to extract that last % points of detail from your Hugo TT 2 (or a compatible Chord device), this is a must-buy.

There may have been some RFI or noise going on, which causes brightness, in the demo you had. ... Long story, but the thread is full of stuff about getting the M-Scaler and DAC right. WAVE Stream, Stone, and Storm cables are well regarded for this. They act by preventing anciliary noise getting into the DAC analogue circuits, and causing brightness.

Secondly, the brightness you heard may have just been adjustment related. I certainly noticed with every upgrade from Mojo, to Hugo 2, to TT2, some initial perceived brightness. However it was just more detail and spacialisation. Like when bass notes suddenly become more detailed, they can sound brighter.
 
Last edited:
Aug 11, 2021 at 1:26 PM Post #14,605 of 14,937

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
4,092
Likes
1,509
+1.

I used the controls only during initial set-up. After noticing oils from my finger affects the matte finish of the volume ball, I started using the remote since then. The remote is all 1 button push so it's all good.

If you get an oily mark on the TT2 volume control, it's easy cleaned. Use a tissue or cloth and give it a quick wipe. Pristine in a couple of seconds.

Any oils will not actually transfer onto anything inside the TT2. Meaning it won't gunk anything up or cause issues. The volume control is free-standing inside the TT2. (Pic below.)
 

Attachments

  • TT2.png
    TT2.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Aug 11, 2021 at 1:37 PM Post #14,606 of 14,937

MarkusBarkus

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2021
Posts
37
Likes
26
Location
Rochester, NY
There may have been some RFI or noise going on, which causes brightness, in the demo you had. ... Long story, but the thread is full of stuff about getting the M-Scaler and DAC right. WAVE Stream, Stone, and Storm cables are well regarded for this. They act by preventing anciliary noise getting into the DAC analogue circuits, and causing brightness.

Secondly, the brightness you heard may have just been adjustment related. I certainly noticed with every upgrade from Mojo, to Hugo 2, to TT2, some initial perceived brightness. However it was just more detail and spacialisation. Like when bass notes suddenly become more detailed, they can sound brighter.
I am/have been testing this Audiowise filter, both with HMS and solo-Dave. It seems to make an improvement, perhaps a smoother sound. You would need two if you wanted to add to dual-BNC input to Dave.

https://audiowise-canada.myshopify....tuff/products/gnd-zro-signal-ground-isolation
 
Aug 11, 2021 at 5:54 PM Post #14,607 of 14,937

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Posts
2,882
Likes
1,844
Location
Afghanistan
My RAID is no longer accessible due to Synology no longer supporting USB. Are these dedicated streamers arrays or single drive?

I stopped using raid a long time ago. My week has been utter schitt as not only did I mess up my roon, but for the last day or so I killed my fibre internet for whatever reanson ?.
Chances are high that my prescription pain killers broke it for me………..when I was sleeping 🤪
 
Last edited:
Aug 12, 2021 at 6:33 AM Post #14,608 of 14,937

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
4,092
Likes
1,509
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top