How much does "the intention of the artist" factor into music?

Discussion in 'Music' started by d64chad, Sep 11, 2018.
  1. d64chad
    DISCLAIMER: I'm not an expert in musical production (or know that much about it), so if there's something I need to be corrected on, feel free to let me know.

This might be an extremely dumb question, but it was something I was thinking about.

Usually, I read about this particular aspect when equalization is mentioned. People say that they don't want to touch an equalizer at all, mainly because it gets in the way and distorts how the original producers and artist intended the music to be. After giving it some thought myself, I've been thinking... how much of music in general is actually presented in exactly the way artists and producers intend?

Might sound dumb, but whenever I hear about the artist's intentions, I somewhat feel that implies that ALL music and ALL mastering is created under a completely specific blueprint that was created solely out of a detailed vision, as in a complete experience. I know for certain that there are people out there that have written and created music with a completely detailed vision and idea of what they want to portray, and have put everything they've got into it... but at the same time, not all music is even like that.

There's a handful of songs out there that were thrown together without much into it. A few people gathered up the equipment they had, and almost threw a few songs together, some with more thought than others. Granted, I've never truly been in a band, but I can almost picture that a particular group of music is NOT created in the form of "hey, if you do this and that, it will give the feeling of this and that", but rather "hey, I wrote this particular riff/melody, and think it sounds good, let's try it". Then again, I could be completely wrong.