How happy would I be with this new setup?
post-1488934
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 4

JimmyDean

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Posts
69
Likes
0
Currently, I have MS1s. My source is my computer, with a wave 8/24 sound card. This card is full 24bit/96khz supportive. Im running its output into my receiver, which Im using to power my headphones. To me, this sounds very good. I just graduated from high school, and have a few options as to a gift. Here is one I'm considering.

First thing I would do is get MS2s. Then, build myself a PIMETA, possibly with a STEPS power supply. It would use all the highest components, dale resistors, black gate caps (if they still make them), 24 position ladder attenuator. I would then want to get a DAC. I was lookin on ebay at some of the audio alchemy dacs, they look nice. Then, Id run a chaintech av-710 using toslink with bit-perfect output. Bam, theres my setup. Would give me an eargasm over my current setup?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1488939
Post #2 of 4

Jazper

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
1,199
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Posts
1,199
Likes
10
You might be happier if you upgraded your amp situation first. The MS1s have a lot of scope to build on.

I say spend money on an amp, then decide if you need more..

Also I'd rather a medium level ppa or m3 to a maxed pimeta..
 
     Share This Post       
post-1488973
Post #3 of 4

JimmyDean

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 11, 2004
Posts
69
Likes
0
Where can I find PCB suppliers for the M3? Are they difficult to build? What is the situation with their power supply?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1488978
Post #4 of 4

Jazper

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
1,199
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Posts
1,199
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyDean
Where can I find PCB suppliers for the M3? Are they difficult to build? What is the situation with their power supply?


www.amb.org/audio/mmm

All the answers to your questions lie there. And I don't think they're terribly hard to build, you do need a multimeter though for the initial setup.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top