How Do you Test Headphones to see if They Are Good?
Jul 12, 2013 at 10:17 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Superma

New Head-Fier
Again, I'm a noob at this whole headphone thing. And being unsatisfied with beats after seeing the wide range of better/ the actual possibilities of headphones, I'm wondering how do people test a pair of headphones to see if they are "good"? 

I don't really know how, and all I do is use some songs to test the clarity and strength of the headphones such as Madness by Muse, Black Skinhead by Kanye West, and What are Going to Do when You aren't Saving the World by Hans Zimmer (new list) to see if the headphone testee creates a hypnotic bass sound like my Beats in the song Madness. 

So are there other ways or possibilities? 

Jul 13, 2013 at 1:13 AM Post #2 of 9
Listen to them and if you like them then they are good headphones.

People hear differently and thus the definition of a "good" headphone varies. There will be people who tell you measurements matter and all that jazz but in my opinion it does not matter if a headphone has the best measurements in the world and I do not like how it sounds.

Jul 13, 2013 at 1:39 AM Post #3 of 9
Just listen to a recording you've heard like a hundred times. My personal point of reference is pink floyd - the wall - hey you.

Ideally all parts of the music will sound good. But yeah just listen to the music man. Something you know very well. I think most audiophiles have a couple of favorite albums they will listen to when first sitting down with some new gear.

Jul 13, 2013 at 3:23 AM Post #4 of 9
Hey You.... What a great track to use as a tester. I just played it through my HD600s out of my DX100 using Flac. Wonderful! The mix of acoustic guitar, vocals, bass line, drums... Absolutely a good choice to test headphones.