How do these things work? Sennheiser Momentum 3

Anyone else using Momentum 3 in wired mode?

• Total voters
  • This poll will close: .
post-15219801
Post #1 of 4

crhodes64

New Head-Fier
Reaction score
Hi- I'm an electronics engineer and an audiofile but I'm new to the world of headphones.

I've been trying a bunch of bluetooth over ear headphones - all the usual suspects Sony XM3, Bose 700 and I tried the Sennheiser Momentum 3's with my iphone7 and I was impressed.

Next step was to try to find out if I really wanted bluetooth headphones or of what I really wanted were wired audiofile phones. Que the demo room at Richer sounds along with my Laptop, Foobar2000 and a ton of uncompressed FLAC content. I normally play my audio content from my PC into a DAC Magic codec and then have balanced XLR's feeding a pair of Active ATC SCM50 studio monitors - I find this produces excellent results.

So, after liking the sound of the Momentum 3's with my iphone 7 on bluetooth - I then set-about tryng these and a bunch of other headphones as wired headphones - I tried the Momentum 2.0 and the Momentum 3 and then also tried a £2000 set of Sennheiser 820's with a headphone pre-amp that was the size of a biscuit tin - Oh and I also tried the Momentum 2.0 and Momentum 3.0 with the Dragonfly Cobalt.

What I found out - unsurprising that the Sennheiser 820's sounded best - but for £2000 what did I expect?
What really surprised me was how good the momentum 3's were in wired config - either using the analogue out of my laptop or connecting to them directly via the USB so they turn up directly in Foobar2000 as a valid playback device.

I could not detect any benefit of using the Dragonfly cobalt which surprised me - if anything the Dragonfly appeared to reduce the volume of the headphones making them less loud and it did not appear to deliver any improvement in sound clarity or quality. Surprising - why would anyone use this thing?