Hidizs Sonata HD DAC cable - new tiny and mighty DAC&AMP
post-14739078
Post #361 of 810

Mellowship

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
551
Reaction score
577
Location
Porto
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Location
Porto
Posts
551
Likes
577
Age
41
I'm not hearing any hiss with the HDII, don't know what kind of earphones you're planning to use it with but for this kind of price you might as well try it? It's not like you're spending $60 on a DAC or something lol
No hiss also for me with the HD mk2 firmw.D. Even with KZ ZS5v1.
Right now I'm using the Sabaj D1, an old DAC with the PCM2704, and my KZ AS10, and it hisses like crazy, but the sound has those great dynamics of the primitive 2704 chip.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14739088
Post #362 of 810

Negakinu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
2,466
Reaction score
132
Location
World
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Location
World
Posts
2,466
Likes
132
No hiss also for me with the HD mk2 firmw.D. Even with KZ ZS5v1.
Right now I'm using the Sabaj D1, an old DAC with the PCM2704, and my KZ AS10, and it hisses like crazy, but the sound has those great dynamics of the primitive 2704 chip.
I have the Tempotec running on firmware D, and my AS10 are hissy. A previous post mentioned that it could be an Android issue, but I've tried it on three phones so far (two with Android 7, one with Android 8) and the hiss doesn't disappear. I can hear it in Youtube, Spotify and Tidal. Haven't tried it in a dedicated local player, like Neutron or something alike.

Maybe it's just the Tempotec version, and not the Hidizs?

EDIT: It's definitely an impedance issue. When I try a headphone or IEM with an impedance over 32ohm, there's way less audible hiss.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14739123
Post #363 of 810

Mellowship

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
551
Reaction score
577
Location
Porto
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Location
Porto
Posts
551
Likes
577
Age
41
I have the Tempotec running on firmware D, and my AS10 are hissy. A previous post mentioned that it could be an Android issue, but I've tried it on three phones so far (two with Android 7, one with Android 8) and the hiss doesn't disappear. I can hear it in Youtube, Spotify and Tidal. Haven't tried it in a dedicated local player, like Neutron or something alike.

Maybe it's just the Tempotec version, and not the Hidizs?

EDIT: It's definitely an impedance issue. When I try a headphone or IEM with an impedance over 32ohm, there's way less audible hiss.
I just tried the AS10 with the Hidizs on Honor 8 / Android 8 using Spotify (highest quality streaming) and I ear no perceptible hiss.
Could be my ageing ears that are starting to get less sensible to high frequency - low amplitude sounds?! How old are you, if I may ask?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14739125
Post #364 of 810

Negakinu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
2,466
Reaction score
132
Location
World
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Location
World
Posts
2,466
Likes
132
I just tried the AS10 with the Hidizs on Honor 8 / Android 8 using Spotify (highest quality streaming) and I ear no perceptible hiss.
Could be my ageing ears that are starting to get less sensible to high frequency - low amplitude sounds?! How old are you, if I may ask?
I'm 35, but I wouldn't call my hearing perfect. I have some hearing damage from spending years on stage. Lost some upper frequencies, nothing dramatic though.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14739126
Post #365 of 810

Mellowship

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
551
Reaction score
577
Location
Porto
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Location
Porto
Posts
551
Likes
577
Age
41
I'm 35, but I wouldn't call my hearing perfect. I have some hearing damage from spending years on stage. Lost some upper frequencies, nothing dramatic though.
Less than two months to 40 here... :older_man:

I guess the hissing problem might be due to the Hidizs/Tempotec themselves. Maybe some batches have a different DAC ?! I guess I was lucky with mine.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14739843
Post #366 of 810
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
10,633
Reaction score
13,717
Location
Norway
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Location
Norway
Posts
10,633
Likes
13,717
I have the Tempotec running on firmware D, and my AS10 are hissy. A previous post mentioned that it could be an Android issue, but I've tried it on three phones so far (two with Android 7, one with Android 8) and the hiss doesn't disappear. I can hear it in Youtube, Spotify and Tidal. Haven't tried it in a dedicated local player, like Neutron or something alike.

Maybe it's just the Tempotec version, and not the Hidizs?

EDIT: It's definitely an impedance issue. When I try a headphone or IEM with an impedance over 32ohm, there's way less audible hiss.
What do you mean by it's an impedance issue?

Of course IEM's/headphones with higher impedance is less prone to hissing, this is always the case as they're harder to drive.....
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743071
Post #367 of 810

RiflemanFirst

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
215
Reaction score
58
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Posts
215
Likes
58
I bought one of these the other day for the fun of it. I did a quick functional check with the original firmware then flashed the D firmware on it. It seems to drive my TH-X00, HD598 SE, and various earbuds with plenty of juice to spare. It drives my HD660S with just a bit extra headroom. Sound maybe a bit on the bright side overall compared to my Modi Multibit & Magni 3 stack, but still pleasant to listen to. Overall it seems like a good value for the money, but it definitely isn't perfect. See below.

My nitpicks:
1.) The volume adjustment is stuck to 6.0 dB steps via Windows. Range is -42.0 dB up to 0.0 dB. This makes finding the "sweet spot" for your ears a bit difficult unless you have a secondary method of adjusting volume. I was able to get around this by using the volume adjustment within Tidal or Foobar2000 to fine tune to the proper level. Seems like there is a bit more granularity to the volume adjustment via my Android phone.

2.) I get some clicking & popping when starting music tracks or when skipping to different parts of a track regardless of using Tidal or Foobar2000 on my Windows machines and to a slightly lesser degree on my Android phone.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743559
Post #368 of 810

Lifted Andreas

Formerly known as geko95gek.
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Messages
3,318
Reaction score
287
Location
United Kingdom
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Location
United Kingdom
Posts
3,318
Likes
287
So, I've been enjoying using this device. Its been running great on the Pure Music firmware.

However, recently I realised that my built-in microphone sucks in my laptop so I decided to flash the "C firmware" which is focused on music but still supposed to allow the microphone to work. So I flashed the firmware properly, and realised that the mic shows up in Windows Devices but does not work... just silence! I tried everything.

However I then flashed the "A - Focused on Calls firmware" and voila, mic is working with my laptop now but of course max I can have for audio is 24bit/48000khz.

Can anyone try to confirm this issue for me on their device too? Just flash the "C firmware" and see if the microphone is working with your PC.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743625
Post #369 of 810

Mnie88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
Denmark
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Location
Denmark
Posts
13
Likes
0
Hello All

After flashing to firmware D (pure music), I cannot get it to work on my Mate 10 Pro (Android - latest emui).
Do any of you know of a solution, other then downgrading the Sonata ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743654
Post #370 of 810

RiflemanFirst

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
215
Reaction score
58
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Posts
215
Likes
58
Hello All

After flashing to firmware D (pure music), I cannot get it to work on my Mate 10 Pro (Android - latest emui).
Do any of you know of a solution, other then downgrading the Sonata ?
No sound at all or just no microphone?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743692
Post #373 of 810

RiflemanFirst

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
215
Reaction score
58
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Posts
215
Likes
58
No sound at all, just a clipping sound when I connect it, and then nothing.
Does it still work on whichever machine you flashed the firmware with? Mine works on both my Windows machines and my Android Phone after updating to the D firmware. You may need to go into the USB settings on your Mate 10 and make sure the phone is still powering or "charging" the Sonata HD.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743710
Post #374 of 810

Mnie88

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Location
Denmark
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Location
Denmark
Posts
13
Likes
0
Does it still work on whichever machine you flashed the firmware with? Mine works on both my Windows machines and my Android Phone after updating to the D firmware. You may need to go into the USB settings on your Mate 10 and make sure the phone is still powering or "charging" the Sonata HD.
Still work on Windows 10, but not on android. It automatically change to power usb device (cant change that, despite developer settings). And just tried with my other usb dac VE Odessy, and it works on the phone.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14743722
Post #375 of 810

RiflemanFirst

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
215
Reaction score
58
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Posts
215
Likes
58
Still work on Windows 10, but not on android. It automatically change to power usb device (cant change that, despite developer settings). And just tried with my other usb dac VE Odessy, and it works on the phone.
It is possible that the D firmware doesn't play nice with your phone for whatever reason. Maybe you can try flashing the A or C firmware to see if it makes a difference. Either way, the Sonata HD should work fine as an audio output device with the D firmware on your phone. Not sure what else to try other than contacting HIDIZS for support.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Mnie88

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 2)

Top