HiBy R6 2020 User Impressions
Nov 24, 2021 at 6:53 AM Post #1,637 of 1,883

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,653
Likes
3,569
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Yep. When the screenshot was taken no, but with the headphones connected it was the same
Thanks
Did you have your headphones plugged into one of the actual ports on the R6 itself? Thanks.
 
Nov 24, 2021 at 7:16 AM Post #1,639 of 1,883

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,653
Likes
3,569
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Yes, i tried with 3.5 and 4.4 connectors.
Is there any way to do a firmware restoration?
Thanks
Try looking up Plugins in HiByMusic and tell me what if anything is in there.

Or, perform a Factory Reset in Android settings.
 
Nov 25, 2021 at 4:21 AM Post #1,642 of 1,883

gadgetgod

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Posts
692
Likes
2,753
Location
India
Hello friends,

I recently got my R6 2020, kind of loving it in terms of sound performance. Worked fine for about 5-7 days. But now I am experiencing some Screen Ghosting issues. Is this normal? I mean screen kind of starts acting on its own. Plays random tracks lol. I restarted the device 2-3 times works fine for now. BUt still worried what should I do?
The retailer from whom I bought it managed to get me a replacement. The issue was growing on its own. Last day it was completely unusable. Luckily the retailer helped me get a replacement and I already got one from him.
 
Nov 25, 2021 at 5:42 PM Post #1,644 of 1,883

Newsee

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Posts
588
Likes
552
Location
Suisse
I try to connect my Hiby with the 3.5mm to RCA cable to my Topping D90se which doesn't work. Is this not a digital output? Or not a digital cable?
You mean you connect the RCA analog output of the Topping to the analog line out of the R6?
Then the answer is two times no.

To feed the D90 from the R6 with digital goods you need a USB-C to USB-B cable.

Alternatively the R6 also has a coax out, funnily from the USB-C slot. It need a special cable, maybe it was included in the package. (USB-C to RCA coax cable)
 
Nov 25, 2021 at 7:44 PM Post #1,645 of 1,883

elpeegee

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2020
Posts
9
Likes
8
Location
Louisiana
Thanks - are the security updates up-to-date?
The security updates are two and a half years outdated (July 2019). And that's with the latest firmware update from Hiby from July 2021.

While that's definitely annoying, I wouldn't worry much about it if you're not installing apps from unknown sources, or surfing sketchy websites. I use the device just for listening to music, and occasionally browsing with the Discogs app. I definitely wouldn't use it for online banking! 😉
 
Nov 26, 2021 at 5:03 AM Post #1,646 of 1,883

tommykrebs

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 15, 2017
Posts
87
Likes
98
Location
Germany
You mean you connect the RCA analog output of the Topping to the analog line out of the R6?
Then the answer is two times no.

To feed the D90 from the R6 with digital goods you need a USB-C to USB-B cable.

Alternatively the R6 also has a coax out, funnily from the USB-C slot. It need a special cable, maybe it was included in the package. (USB-C to RCA coax cable)
Thank you, but no, I meant the 3.5mm line out on top of the Hiby R6 to connect -----> with the COA input of the D90se. The Hiby comes with a cable and I thought I can use it as an alternative to stream my digital music to the D90se. But maybe this line out is analoge?
 
Nov 26, 2021 at 9:44 AM Post #1,647 of 1,883

goodvibes

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Posts
9,226
Likes
1,555
Thank you, but no, I meant the 3.5mm line out on top of the Hiby R6 to connect -----> with the COA input of the D90se. The Hiby comes with a cable and I thought I can use it as an alternative to stream my digital music to the D90se. But maybe this line out is analoge?
Wrong thread this is the newer unit with the headphone connections on the bottom.
 
Nov 28, 2021 at 8:29 AM Post #1,649 of 1,883

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,653
Likes
3,569
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Is the official Hiby case the only leather case available for this model so far? I bought one down in Australia, it's the non-metal-backed version. It's about 2-3mm too wide.
Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear that.

Can you re-state which version of the R6 2020 and leather case you bought? As it's a little ambiguous in the above sentence 😅
 
Nov 28, 2021 at 5:11 PM Post #1,650 of 1,883

redrich2000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Posts
1,906
Likes
152
Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear that.

Can you re-state which version of the R6 2020 and leather case you bought? As it's a little ambiguous in the above sentence 😅

It's case pictured below. The issue with it is hard to describe and only minor. It feels like the side panels are a couple of mm too wide so they sit off the body of the DAP slightly. I made a little video of it here. You can see the way it sort of clicks. I used the very top section of the side because that was easiest to video but it has the space and clicks like that all the way down the side. Like I say, it's pretty minor, just a slight annoyance.

Overnight last night I took the DAP out and put the empty case on its side with a light weight on it. That seems to have flattened the sides a bit and made it sit a bit better.

hiby.jpg
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top