Hiby R3 Pro Portable Bluetooth DAP
Dec 25, 2020 at 5:42 PM Post #1,186 of 1,589

whirlwind

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Posts
10,595
Likes
14,630
Location
At The Crossroads
Are you also using the 2.5mm port? It has noticeably improved SQ over the 3.5mm. IIRC, it has about 4x more power output, which should translate into better dynamic performance.

I am not at the moment...I need to grab a couple of balanced cables
 
Dec 26, 2020 at 4:54 AM Post #1,188 of 1,589

Vruksha

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Posts
548
Likes
491
Location
Alaska
I'm afraid your player may be one of the ones afflicted by the "missing recovery partition" syndrome, and you may need to update your R3pro by following the guide and relevant files enclosed here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1l10NVyFRpPUAVhDvPww_l1-RSmC_uMaD

You may need to download WinRAR to extract the archive: https://www.rarlab.com/download.htm

Also, if the driver for the r3pro in bootloader mode does not install automatically, you will have to disable driver signature enforcement in order to be able to install the driver enclosed. The exact method for doing this unfortunately varies significantly depending on computer and windows version, but this should be a good start:
https://windowsreport.com/driver-signature-enforcement-windows-10/
Thankyou for the help, I was able to update mine following your instructions. Much appreciated
 
Dec 27, 2020 at 5:48 AM Post #1,190 of 1,589

SiggyFraud

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Posts
432
Likes
670
Location
.
Dec 27, 2020 at 5:07 PM Post #1,191 of 1,589

Markf

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Posts
25
Likes
13
Was thinking of purchasing the Walkman NW-A105 which is £199 at the moment but quite like the reviews of the R3 Pro (possibly saber). I will be using it with the B&W PX7 headphones via BT, is the R3 a good choice?
 
Dec 28, 2020 at 9:03 PM Post #1,192 of 1,589

cjb23

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 15, 2020
Posts
7
Likes
4
Location
usa
just got my r3 pro saber
-does any one else get a stuttering prolem on bluetooth when changing tracks? - happens for first1-2 sec whenver a new track is played (when either manually changed or next track alloiwed to natuatlly play); happens with all bluetooth codecs
-additionally is tidal online very glitchy? - tends to cause the player to occasionally freeze for 4-5 sec, need to power off.on to regain function

not sure if i got a buggy unit ot these are common issues?
 
Last edited:
Dec 29, 2020 at 7:20 AM Post #1,193 of 1,589

rlw6534

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2019
Posts
1,900
Likes
1,438
Location
Clemson, SC USA - Down by the lake
Was thinking of purchasing the Walkman NW-A105 which is £199 at the moment but quite like the reviews of the R3 Pro (possibly saber). I will be using it with the B&W PX7 headphones via BT, is the R3 a good choice?

The BT (and wifi) is much better on the Sony. Also you get full android for additional apps. However, battery life is not as long as the R3 and it does not have balanced output. For BT use the Sony is a much better choice.
 
Jan 1, 2021 at 7:35 AM Post #1,195 of 1,589

Hanesu

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 4, 2018
Posts
976
Likes
895
Location
Germany/Japan
Hi! I have a question concerning Airplay on the R3 Pro: Is it possible to stream from an iPhone to the Hiby via Airplay without internet connection (on the go)? Like with the Mojo Poly?
 
Jan 9, 2021 at 5:13 PM Post #1,196 of 1,589

whirlwind

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Posts
10,595
Likes
14,630
Location
At The Crossroads
I am really digging this little player. I wanted to upgrade from my Sandisk player. I use it for my bedside listening mostly and wanted to listen to my flac and dsd files.

I told myself you have $500 to upgrade your bedside listening...the Hiby R3 Pro and 512MB memory card came to about $250 leaving me $250 for some iem's.

I am going to add the ThieAudio Legacy 3 and a balanced cable to the rest of this and just enjoy it for awhile before deciding If I want to upgrade the iem's.

DSC04914.JPG

DSC04904.JPG

DSC04901.JPG

I am quite enjoying listening to my flac and dsd files and the iem's these days seem to sound great for pretty cheap.
 
Jan 11, 2021 at 2:04 PM Post #1,197 of 1,589

xtremesystems

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Posts
37
Likes
13
Location
poland
i ve read +- 30 pages and I'm quite confused. I have radsone es100 mk2 , and im quite happy with its sound tuning . Which R3Pro should i choose for upgrade? sabre or cirrus logic?(or mayby r3pro is not big upgrade to es100?)
I want link it with ISN H40 iems
 
Jan 13, 2021 at 1:02 AM Post #1,198 of 1,589

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,510
Likes
3,413
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
i ve read +- 30 pages and I'm quite confused. I have radsone es100 mk2 , and im quite happy with its sound tuning . Which R3Pro should i choose for upgrade? sabre or cirrus logic?(or mayby r3pro is not big upgrade to es100?)
I want link it with ISN H40 iems
Both versions have the MSEB tuner which will make more difference to the final outcome than any difference between the two versions.
 
Jan 13, 2021 at 6:54 AM Post #1,199 of 1,589

x X x

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Posts
157
Likes
45
Location
Poland
Hello.

I am trying to install custom theme on my R3 Pro.

Theme:
https://github.com/7490212774519684/ipod-revival-modern
Instruction:
https://github.com/7490212774519684/ipod-revival-modern/wiki/installation

Windows 10 64 bit.

I am currently on 1.5 firmware.

I've installed all required data from here:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1d8hAzMUYp4aBZNs04__Za6pRcaT7vhnp

My first problem: looks like liteGUI.exe program is not starting on my machine. When accessing as in manual via r3pro.bat file, executable window is opening for a short time and automatically closes. I've checked .bat commands and found that it is starting liteGUI.exe I've got two missing dll files: "ssleay32.dll" as first and "vld_x86.dll" as second. Both files were downloaded from the net and placed in the C:/Windows directory, second was placed into C:/Windows/SysWOW64. After all, liteGUI.exe is still not starting, now I've got error saing that "application was not propelry started" with error code 0xc000007b.

Any suggestions?

Edit:
Okay I've found a solution for running r3pro.bat file in Youtube:

Okay after a day or two i figured it out for the HiBy R3 Pro for the r3pro.bat and Theme compression pack.bat to work.
1. copy and paste the contents of
\r3pro_en_simulation_v1.0\【03】Instruction directory\data
and paste into
\r3pro_en_simulation_v1.0\í+03í+Instruction directory\data
2. Rename the folder (í+03í+Instruction directory) (i know it says not to but do it)
3. Then navigate to Theme compression pack.bat
\r3pro_en_simulation_v1.0\í+04í+Compressed theme pack\(2) Compressed theme pack
right click and edit Theme compression pack.bat (using notepad)
4. Find
set base_dir="../../¡¾03¡¿Instruction directory"
and rename
¡¾03¡¿Instruction directory
to the name of the folder from step 2.
save and exit.

You should be able to run Theme compression pack.bat now.
check your custom skins with r3pro.bat
and make sure to change Version.txt keep as 1.0 to check with r3pro.bat (litegui/emulator)
then change to your device version when ready to install theme on device and run Theme compression pack.bat again for you .t file


Source (it is a comment of 0000Quanta user to the Hiby Music guide video):


Unfortunatelly ipod-modern theme is not working with my device. Maybe it is not compatible with 1.5 firmware? Would someone be so kind and check on other device / firmware, please?
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top