Hiby R3 Pro Portable Bluetooth DAP
Jun 3, 2022 at 6:53 PM Post #1,592 of 1,631

glockhit

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Posts
355
Likes
46
Unable to move the slider (button) from low gain to hi gain. Nothing happens.
Also every codec shows up as AAC in the top screen on the left when playing a recording even though it’s selected in Bluetooth as LDAC or any other codec it’s defaulted to AAC on the screen. Sounds like it’s playing LDAC but shows as AAC.
Even when the Bluetooth headphones used play LDAC.
Quite a few other bugs.
I’m using version 1.7 firmware.
Does anyone have an idea how to fix these issues.
 
Jun 4, 2022 at 8:51 PM Post #1,593 of 1,631

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,615
Likes
3,502
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Well gain would have no effect on Bluetooth headphones.
What's the model of your Bluetooth headphones?
 
Jun 5, 2022 at 10:37 AM Post #1,595 of 1,631

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,615
Likes
3,502
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Drop Panda, Soundcore Liberty Pro, Sony WH-1000XM5.
I see. Are you playing out of the R3 when this happen, or is it possibly acting as a receiver of some kind as well while playing out to the earphones?
 
Jun 6, 2022 at 9:20 AM Post #1,597 of 1,631

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,615
Likes
3,502
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
Playing out from the R3 pro Sabre
For this issue, HiBy HQ suggests unpairing, forgetting the Bluetooth devices on the R3 and try repairing them again.
 
Jul 5, 2022 at 1:10 AM Post #1,599 of 1,631

Doudougalak

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2022
Posts
23
Likes
1
Location
France
Hi there, my comment has nothing to do with R3 Pro Saber directly but rather with Hiby. First I noticed that my review regarding the product never got published on their website (easy to maintain 5 stars comments this way). Then I complained about the poor sound quality out of 3.5 mm lineout when plugged to a HiFi amplifier not advertised on the description. Stopped to answer me when running out of arguments. Quite happy about the product, only when used as DAP but not as a preamp DAC for HiFi, but the company is another story...
 
Jul 5, 2022 at 4:34 AM Post #1,600 of 1,631

BenF

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Posts
4,322
Likes
1,779
Hi there, my comment has nothing to do with R3 Pro Saber directly but rather with Hiby. First I noticed that my review regarding the product never got published on their website (easy to maintain 5 stars comments this way). Then I complained about the poor sound quality out of 3.5 mm lineout when plugged to a HiFi amplifier not advertised on the description. Stopped to answer me when running out of arguments. Quite happy about the product, only when used as DAP but not as a preamp DAC for HiFi, but the company is another story...
The 3.5mm output is pretty bad, the 2.5mm balanced is much better.
R3 Pro Saber also sounds better in USB DAC mode than as a player - is that how you used it, or just as a source+DAC for the amplifier?
 
Last edited:
Jul 5, 2022 at 8:45 AM Post #1,602 of 1,631

BenF

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Posts
4,322
Likes
1,779
Did not try 2.5 mm-RCA cable to connect it to my old amplifier. Had to buy an external DAC (SMSL) to put between my amplifier and R3 Pro and now the sound is great.
I do not recommend 2.5 mm-RCA cables, they can be dangerous.
I meant that you can use balanced headphone cables with R3 Pro Saber, and the SQ will be better.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top