Hey smart computer/video/HT guys
post-194644
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 10

Dusty Chalk

Head-Fi-holic: With headphones would just be a benny.
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
6,565
Reaction score
15
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,565
Likes
15
I was wondering if I could save US$200 (cost of a new 13" flat screen television). Is there a way that I can convert the RCA out of my DVD player into the SVGA input of my computer monitor? I already have access to the audio signal, I just need access to the video signal. Is there a pre-existing cable that does this? Is it just a cable, or do I have to figure something else out?
 
     Share This Post       
post-194653
Post #2 of 10

aeberbach

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
11
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Posts
1,807
Likes
11
The box that does that is anywhere from $100 to $200, or much higher of you want better quality and/or line doubling to avoid the flicker that you'd see otherwise. Buying the TV is probably your best bet.
 
     Share This Post       
post-194695
Post #3 of 10

Nick Dangerous

Mr. Tuberrific
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
27
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Posts
2,623
Likes
27
Your computer monitor accepts a standard S-video signal? I think a RCA-Svideo cable arrangement should be possible, but I haven't seen one. Alternatively, you could install one of those TVPC cards that lets you display TV input in a window.
 
     Share This Post       
post-195040
Post #5 of 10

aeberbach

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
11
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Posts
1,807
Likes
11
Be warned, if it doesn't have a line doubler then the output will be at 50 or 60Hz depending on where you live - and it's not pretty! Flicker!
 
     Share This Post       
post-195240
Post #6 of 10

andrzejpw

May one day invent Bose-cancelling headphones.
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Messages
6,636
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Posts
6,636
Likes
10
I'd go for a nice capture card. Practically anything made by hauppauge(sp?). The 401 card is especially nice. Stay away from USB/the PVR model.
 
     Share This Post       
post-195261
Post #7 of 10

TripsRight

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
Posts
38
Likes
0
The ViewSonic uses passthrough to get the video signal from your video card to the monitor, and it SERIOUSLY degrades the quality. I would get a headache staring at the monitor for only 30 seconds. This is okay if you're just using the monitor as a TV, but if you're going to use it for a computer (which most people are), stay away from the ViewSonic!
 
     Share This Post       
post-195483
Post #8 of 10

Dusty Chalk

Head-Fi-holic: With headphones would just be a benny.
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
6,565
Reaction score
15
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,565
Likes
15
Quote:

Originally posted by andrzejpw
I'd go for a nice capture card. Practically anything made by hauppauge(sp?). The 401 card is especially nice. Stay away from USB/the PVR model.


Actually, I was hoping it was just a matter of tying some pins together. I still may look at a box (yes, with a line doubler -- I don't want to be annoyed or get a headache, I get that enough at work with the flicker rate conflicts between my monitor and the overhead lights) or a capture card for the necessity of space -- I just don't have room for a TV, even a small one...
 
     Share This Post       
post-195602
Post #9 of 10

aeberbach

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
11
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Posts
1,807
Likes
11
dustychalk, this might be what you need:

http://www.dvdirect.com/shop/product.asp?sku=TVO5035

I used to use this with a 21" monitor when I had just arrived in the USA, before I got a TV.

I'm not using mine. If you want it I will send it to you and you can try it out. If you like it then we can work out a fair price. If you don't you can send it back.
 
     Share This Post       
post-196092
Post #10 of 10

blip

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
Messages
1,992
Reaction score
12
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
Posts
1,992
Likes
12
I'd echo for the capture card... Not only will it solve your problem but it will allow you to do so much more.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top