HEV70 broken? Red light won't turn green.
Sep 16, 2009 at 7:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

paaj

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Posts
2,139
Likes
22
Location
Amsterdam
My HEV70 is acting strange: the red light is not turning to green. Even without headphones it just stays red. Is it broken? Normally it is only for a flash during startup, now it's red all the time. Would it damage the headphones if I used them? I don't dare use it now
frown.gif
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 9:31 PM Post #2 of 8

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,863
Likes
516
Disconnect the inputs, make sure the volume control is at zero.
Disconnect the headphones too.

If its still red, there is some kind of short inside the unit,
(i.e. the power supply is over current). In which case definitely do
not use the unit, contact sennheiser to see if they still repair them.

Likely one of the surface mount output transistors is shorted.
Not easy for most people to fix.
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 9:47 PM Post #3 of 8

paaj

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Posts
2,139
Likes
22
Location
Amsterdam
I've tried that. All inputs disconnected and headphone taken out. Still red.
I'll see what they can do for me, thanks.


edit:
I've had some random static noise in the left earcup the last few days. Looked like something with the cable. Could this be related?
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 9:55 PM Post #4 of 8

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,863
Likes
516
4 different safety circuits for each channel. any one of them will turn the
led to red. I can supply the schematics, but it won't do any good, these
are not easy to fix.
 
Sep 16, 2009 at 10:00 PM Post #5 of 8

paaj

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Posts
2,139
Likes
22
Location
Amsterdam
I sent the Dutch Sennheiser department an email. I really hope they can help me
frown.gif


It's probably not smart to try the HE60's with the SRM-T1 I've got coming in right?
 
Sep 17, 2009 at 8:56 AM Post #7 of 8

Michgelsen

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Posts
1,092
Likes
143
Quote:

Originally Posted by paaj /img/forum/go_quote.gif
edit:
I've had some random static noise in the left earcup the last few days. Looked like something with the cable. Could this be related?



That could simply be dust.
Quote:

Originally Posted by paaj /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I sent the Dutch Sennheiser department an email. I really hope they can help me
frown.gif


It's probably not smart to try the HE60's with the SRM-T1 I've got coming in right?



They probably can, although the unit might have to go back to Sennheiser Germany. Mine was fixed in Germany more than a year ago, so they still service them. I had a different problem though.
If you have an adapter for use with Stax amps, try it. Aren't you curious?
 
Sep 17, 2009 at 11:36 AM Post #8 of 8

paaj

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Posts
2,139
Likes
22
Location
Amsterdam
The Stax amp has not arrived yet, stuck in customs.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top