Help choosing IEM for Cayin N5ii
May 21, 2019 at 3:08 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Ryan220

New Head-Fier
Hello all.

I'm very new to HiFi and would appreciate some advice.

I have just purchased a Cayin N5ii and am awaiting delivery.

I wish to get a new pair of IEMs to go with it.

My lack of experience and inibility to demo any IEMs is proving to be an issue.

So I've read dozens of reviews and have made a shortlist of either Ibasso IT01s, BGVP DM7, DM6 and DMS.

I like to listen to all kinds of music except Rock and Heavy Metal.

Because Ive only ever owned one pair of IEMs I don't know if they are bright, dynamic, neutral etc so I will just list my current setup in the hope that wiser minds than mine will know.

Huawei P20 Pro,
Topping NX2,
Audio Technica CKX 9

I really like the sound of this setup. To me it's nice and clear and has good bass thats not over powering. I'm looking for an IEM when paired with the Cayin that will offer improvement.

My IEM budget is around £200 / $250 should anyone think a different IEM would be better.

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited:
May 22, 2019 at 5:28 AM Post #3 of 4
I found 2 reviews about the CKX 9
https://www.whathifi.com/audio-technica/ath-ckx9is/review
https://www.reviewed.com/headphones/content/audio-technica-sonicfuel-ath-ckx9is-headphones-review
From those it sounds like they have boosted bass and mid bass, lack clarity in upper mids and can have harsh treble.

The Kanas Pro are quite good, especially in the upper mids which are clean, detailed and holographic.
Sub-bass is strong if a little slowish. I personally would like them to have more mid bass & lower mids and be a bit faster, but then we are talking about the Tanjim Oxygen, which is closer to $300

The IT01s is on the brighter side, not sure if you'd enjoy that that much after the bass heavy CKX 9.

A safe bet would be the Final Audio E4000
I liked the Sony XBA-N3 as well, strong bass and smooth and detailed mid/treble, but also $300