1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

Help a 2ch audiophile choose his first headphone/amp system

Next

Last
  1. gramofonea
    Hello,

I’m coming from 2ch setup and i’m also new to this forum but not new to audio :) I want to dip my toes in headphone world but I’m completely lost and because i’m newbie here I want to make my first purchase a good one.

Little background story:

Today my system consist of Bower Wilkins 803D speakers, Mastersound Compact 845 tube amp, GyroSE turntable with SME 309 arm and Soundsmith Paua MKII and last WhestTwo.2 phono stage.

Now it’s mainly vinyl records that I listen today and I have a Bluesound Node2 streamer which I rarely listen to.

This system gives me tremendous joy and I never get tired of listening to it. It’s warm, open with crystal clear sound. My music of choice is 90% jazz. Jazz style I like to listen is hard bop, avant-garde, free and spiritual jazz. I also enjoy singer/songwriters stuff. In my collection there are hundreds of classic rock records which I rarely listen to but from time to time some Sabbath, Led, Floyd or Doors find their way to TT.

With busy life, family with small kids and a taste in music that is not shared with other family members I often listen to music late at night. The system I have sounds fantastic on low volume so it’s not a big deal but I want to listen in the morning and during the day. That means I need headphones or my wife will get anxiety attacks (her words) when free jazz is on :D