HDCD: a function of DAC and/or transport?
post-773874
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 9

TrevorNetwork

TrevorNetwork - Canadian Group Buy Coordinator
Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Messages
1,724
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Posts
1,724
Likes
12
As subject. Can any transport extract the enhanced resolution from an HDCD and output it via a coaxial digital port to an HDCD-supporting DAC?

Cheers!

Trevor
 
     Share This Post       
post-773877
Post #2 of 9

Iron_Dreamer

Member of the Trade: HeadAmp
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
9,527
Reaction score
74
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Posts
9,527
Likes
74
AFAIK, yes. The extra resolution is encoded into the high end of the regular 16-bit signal, so any normal CDP should pass along the same signal to the DAC. It is up to the DAC to decode the extra data and enhance the signal with it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-774102
Post #3 of 9

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Yes, the HDCD signal is transport independent. It is carried in the normal 16 bit signal and decoded in the digital filter, prior to the DAC chips. The CD players or DACs that decode HDCD all use the same Pacific Microsonics (now Microsoft) digital filter chip. The chip was changed once a few years back (I believe the PMD-100 to the PMD-200).
 
     Share This Post       
post-774108
Post #4 of 9

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
The coding is in the LSB (Least Significant Bit) of the 16bits. So you can even copy the disc, make WAVs on your harddrive, etc. and it will be in tact.
 
     Share This Post       
post-774285
Post #5 of 9

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
What about lossless compression?

I never did get a chance to test that.

BTW, the NEC CDrom uber cheap transports output HDCD just fine.

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-774308
Post #6 of 9

Super-Gonzo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
137
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Posts
137
Likes
10
I wish there was a way to take the 16-bit wav and decode the hdcd content to a real 20-bit wav... then I wouldn't need a hdcd compatible dac, just a dac that can decode 20 bit PCM.

I'm assuming this is what WMP9 does for its HDCD implementation. I wonder what it does when it has an hdcd disc, but an output device only capable of 16 bit resolution?
 
     Share This Post       
post-774324
Post #7 of 9

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
Lossless should be fine as long as the decompression goes back to the original WAV.

As for decoding HDCD to a file... You'd need a software decoder which only WMP9 can do. You can then record the output of the digital output. The problem is that it's real time so it'll take a while. I also think it would work best with an RME soundcard since it bypasses kmixer even in WaveOut of DS output. WMP goes through kmixer resampling with a regular soundcard probably. Recording a resampled sound from kmixer defeats the purpose.
 
     Share This Post       
post-774359
Post #8 of 9

Super-Gonzo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
137
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Posts
137
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by lan
...WMP goes through kmixer resampling with a regular soundcard probably. Recording a resampled sound from kmixer defeats the purpose.


Agreed, not much point in decoding 20 bits only to immediately resample to 16 again.
 
     Share This Post       
post-774395
Post #9 of 9

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally Posted by Super-Gonzo
Agreed, not much point in decoding 20 bits only to immediately resample to 16 again.


The resampling, which is related to sample rate, is different issue than the one you mentioned about bit depth. I'm just saying the bit depth issue is kind of irrelevant as long as there's the sample rate conversion issue.

There is a setting to decode to 24bit in WMP9. I guess if it's unchecked it stays 16bit. I can do a bit resolution analysis on the recorded file to see what happens with the bits though. I can't do it right now so i'll have to get back later on that.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top