HD 598 vs DT990 w/fiio e11
post-10635697
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 15

MrSpaceFox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Posts
34
Likes
11
I know quite a bit about each of these phones and the sound signatures they produce, but which do you guys think will produce higher overall quality sound? The un-amped 598s or the amped dt 990s? They both come out to be ~200
 
     Share This Post       
post-10635961
Post #2 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
  I know quite a bit about each of these phones and the sound signatures they produce, but which do you guys think will produce higher overall quality sound? The un-amped 598s or the amped dt 990s? They both come out to be ~200
 
What sources will you be using the headphones with?
Is this for music? movies? gaming?
A Senn HD558 can be modded (zero cost) to provide sound quality about 90% as good as the more costly HD598.
you can get a used HD558 off Amazon for $98.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10635972
Post #3 of 15

MrSpaceFox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Posts
34
Likes
11
I will mainly be using my pc. It was built a few months ago and has the newest realtek audio (though I know it's NOT auidiophile quality)
 
I am now leaning toward the 990s with the Bravo v2 tube amp. If I need a DAC later I can get one, and I can swap tubes to adjust sound.
 
What do you think I should do? My budget in all is max $250
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636038
Post #4 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
  I will mainly be using my PC. It was built a few months ago and has the newest Realtek audio (though I know it's NOT audiophile quality)
 
I am now leaning toward the 990s with the Bravo v2 tube amp. If I need a DAC later I can get one, and I can swap tubes to adjust sound.
 
What do you think I should do? My budget in all is max $250
 
DT990 with a tube amplifier, should work fine.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636271
Post #5 of 15

MrSpaceFox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Posts
34
Likes
11
I ordered exactly that a bit ago. I am worried that I will need a DAC; is this the case? or will my pc's on board audio suffice? The system was built this year.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636340
Post #6 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
  I ordered exactly that a bit ago. I am worried that I will need a DAC; is this the case? or will my pc's on board audio suffice? The system was built this year.
 
Do you know the make and model of your motherboard?
In the future, you can get an Asus Xonar DX sound card, used for around $60, off eBay, it's CS4398 DAC chip should provide better audio quality then any low or mid range motherboard's on-board audio.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636368
Post #7 of 15

MrSpaceFox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Posts
34
Likes
11
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157378&cm_re=asrock_h87-_-13-157-378-_-Product
 
That or I could just purchase a cheap external one; the fiio e5 and e3 are $30
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636387
Post #8 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157378&cm_re=asrock_h87-_-13-157-378-_-Product
 
That or I could just purchase a cheap external one; the fiio e5 and e3 are $30
 
FiiO E5 or E3 headphone amplifier?
 
I just realized this is the fourth thread you have started that I have made comments on.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636408
Post #9 of 15

MrSpaceFox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Posts
34
Likes
11
D3 or D5, sorry
 
Yeah, i've put a few out there, but i've also learned an extensive amount regarding headphones in the past week.
 
I have an e6 by the way; would change much if I ran that with the bravo 2 for eq adjustment/enhancement?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10636435
Post #10 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
  D3 or D5, sorry
 
Yeah, i've put a few out there, but i've also learned an extensive amount regarding headphones in the past week.
 
I have an e6 by the way; would change much if I ran that with the bravo 2 for eq adjustment/enhancement?
 
I really doubt the FiiO D3 or d5 DAC will offer any audio quality improvement, over your motherboard's ALC1150 audio chip set.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10638649
Post #11 of 15

MrSpaceFox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
34
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Posts
34
Likes
11
Do you think my specific mobo audio chip will hinder the dt990s significantly?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10638707
Post #12 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
  Do you think my specific mobo audio chip will hinder the dt990s significantly?
 
I think the mobo audio chip will be good enough for now, for use with the DT990.
I'm sure by next year you will be looking into more audio upgrades, as the addiction kicks in.
I started off buy $50 headphones, now I'm buying $500 headphones.
Started off buying $60 sound card, now I'm into $300 external DAC/amps
Started off spending $75 for 5.1 computer audio, now spending $175 for just a 2.0.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10638743
Post #13 of 15

Astropin

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2003
Messages
212
Reaction score
68
Joined
Sep 24, 2003
Posts
212
Likes
68
   
I think the mobo audio chip will be good enough for now, for use with the DT990.
I'm sure by next year you will be looking into more audio upgrades, as the addiction kicks in.
I started off buy $50 headphones, now I'm buying $500 headphones.
Started off buying $60 sound card, now I'm into $300 external DAC/amps
Started off spending $75 for 5.1 computer audio, now spending $175 for just a 2.0.
 
Isn't that always the way!
 
     Share This Post       
post-10638782
Post #14 of 15

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
28,725
Reaction score
1,759
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
28,725
Likes
1,759
   
Isn't that always the way!
 
Yea.
If only I could more to someplace where I would not have access to electricity, then I would not have any reason to buying more "stuff".
 
     Share This Post       
post-10639972
Post #15 of 15

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
19,287
Reaction score
2,061
Location
grand rapids, mi
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Location
grand rapids, mi
Posts
19,287
Likes
2,061
Yea.
If only I could more to someplace where I would not have access to electricity, then I would not have any reason to buying more "stuff".

You can't do that yet. You haven't gotten into higher end computer desktop 2.1 setups yet :D
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top