handbrake: producing less vibrant colours than dvd
Nov 9, 2008 at 12:05 PM Post #3 of 25

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
76
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zuerst /img/forum/go_quote.gif
use footbrake instead


Link?
I searched, but found nothing similar to Handbrake..
 
Nov 9, 2008 at 12:50 PM Post #6 of 25

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
76
Al4x. Yeah, the colors certainly looks washed out. Which leave me to a couple of questions:
* Have you tried a Snapshot build, or are you just using version 0.9.2?
* Do you see the same using different codec/encoder?


Quote:

Originally Posted by stewtheking /img/forum/go_quote.gif
krmathis: Footbrake was a little joke that fell a bit flat I fear...


I see! That joke certainly fell flat over here...
 
Nov 9, 2008 at 12:54 PM Post #7 of 25

Jaska

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Posts
2,001
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Al4x /img/forum/go_quote.gif
is there anyway that i dont know about to stop handbrake giving these washed out colours? its quite noticeable on my laptop


I have no idea, but I would be more concerned about Handbrake adding random little alien-looking objects to the back of people's arms
tongue.gif
 
Nov 9, 2008 at 1:21 PM Post #8 of 25

Nocturnal310

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Posts
3,588
Likes
33
u can use AutoGK alongwith DVD decrypter.


will easily take around 1-2 hours for one DVD
 
Nov 9, 2008 at 9:49 PM Post #9 of 25

TheAzhrei

Head-Fier
Joined
May 24, 2004
Posts
70
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaska /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I would be more concerned about Handbrake adding random little alien-looking objects to the back of people's arms
tongue.gif



I was interested to see how it would look on the image with good colors.
 
Nov 9, 2008 at 9:56 PM Post #10 of 25

Al4x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Posts
2,233
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by krmathis /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Al4x. Yeah, the colors certainly looks washed out. Which leave me to a couple of questions:
* Have you tried a Snapshot build, or are you just using version 0.9.2?
* Do you see the same using different codec/encoder?



I see! That joke certainly fell flat over here...




i have never noticed it before a week ago, may have to relook over a few,
but i always do a compare

it is the normal stable download and ive always used H264

i really doubt its bitrate, im lost and would really like to figure it out

and the little pointer is just the cursor
the shots are on the same screen too
 
Nov 9, 2008 at 11:08 PM Post #12 of 25

necropimp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Posts
2,254
Likes
11
you're encoding from a lossy source with a lossy codec

you're gonna lose something in the process

we both seem to have problems with handbrake... you don't like the slight desaturation of the colors in your output i can't get it to output 480x272 videos that work on my PSP
 
Nov 10, 2008 at 5:08 PM Post #14 of 25

krmathis

Head-Fi's Most Prolific Poster
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Posts
34,764
Likes
76
If a Snapshot build and/or different codec make a difference, then I am out of ideas.
May be worth heading over to the Handbrake forum, as they may have other suggestions.
wink.gif
 
Nov 10, 2008 at 6:04 PM Post #15 of 25

necropimp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Posts
2,254
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Al4x /img/forum/go_quote.gif
im fairly sure it didnt do this in the past


the difference in your example is so small this may be the first time you noticed
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top