1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

Great headphones for under $300

1. Peptobismol165
    Hey everybody!

My name is Marc and I'm eager to purchase a new set of headphones. 

I'm relatively new to the "audiophile" world, and I'm far from one!! I bought a pair of Bose IE2 ear-buds and loved them for 2 years. I just recently lost them, and I'm looking for an upgrade. I'm willing to spend up to around $300 for some. I'm looking for headphones that are really versatile. I'll be going to college in about a month, so my sound system won't fly in the apartment. I want a pair of headphones that'll be great with not only the music I listen to, but great with movies and games too! My music varies anywhere from Avenged Sevenfold and Rise Against, to Matchbox Twenty and The Goo Goo Dolls, back to Alice and Chains, with a sprinkle of Muse. I also like bands such as AWOLNATION, John Mayer, Bleachers, Jack Johnson, The Orwells, and Nothing More. (I can go on all day!)

Even though I listen to a lot of Alternative, Metal, Rock, and lord knows what else, I really like listening to classical music. I love 2Cellos, Yo-Yo-Ma, The Piano Tribute Band, Frank Sinatra and countless other artists.

I'm looking for a headphone with a warm rich sound, but with a "punchy" bass. I was told Sennheiser's HD 598's will go great with my classical music, and hold true to that "warm full sound" I was talking about, but that the Sennheiser HD 558's are the overall most versatile for me. Other headphones that popped up in conversation were the AKG Q 701's. 

I'm looking to you guys for help, what should I do!?

2. KG Jag
    Although they are both very fine cans, neither the HD 558/598 nor Q 701 have the type or amount of bass you desire.