Grado SR60i vs Sony MDR-XB700
May 31, 2011 at 12:20 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

itgm4rk

New Head-Fier
Hello,

I dont know which are better for me.

I like to listen to techno, dubstep, house, etc. but i also like to listen to choral pieces (ex. Eric Whitacre and some acapella groups (ex. BYU Vocal Point, Straight No Chaser). I like to use them at home and maybe travel around with them, too. Please help me out.

I'm very new to this world of headphones which i love :)

Thank you

Mark

May 31, 2011 at 12:42 AM Post #2 of 9
Sony. For sure.

Grado is absolute poop on anything that is synthesized. (Tron Legacy album excluded)

May 31, 2011 at 1:38 AM Post #4 of 9
I haven't listened to them. A lot of people slam bass heavy headphones as being mushy and undetailed but I hear good things about these and if they're your first cans, I wouldn't exactly call them underwhelming.

I am a Grado junkie myself though. You could take the high-road and buy the Grados, or give into your carnal desires and buy the XB700s. I just couldn't wear something that large on my head lol. I hear the new SR-60i's with the big housings are fairly decent for bass... but in general a lot of "audiophile" grade cans aren't going to do synthesized sub-bass wonderfully. If they're your first cans, I would honestly recommend them anyway, it's usually when people have been listening to other "high end" stuff that they get underwhelmed by the SR-60 sound. Put up a wanted ad on HF, I'm sure you'll get lots of hits.

Let a few other people answer on the thread, theres a lot of stuff out there that I haven't listened to and I'm sure somebody will come up with a good compromise solution. I'll be honest and I tend to have tunnel vision when recommending stuff since I only talk about the stuff I personally own/auditioned.

May 31, 2011 at 5:11 AM Post #5 of 9