got my silver SL-CT570 today but...
post-163687
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
pay day! i run straight to my favorite electronics store hunting for the panasonic. after a few minutes of comparing prices, i landed on a store who gave it for $15. you heard me right. it's second hand but almost new. just a few scratches here and there. i was smiling ear to ear and could almost fly. in my bus ride, i checked out the sound in my e888's from the headphone jack, and the line out, and found that you guys here were right. it sounds soooo warm, balanced and rich compared to my brother's newer sony. when i got home, i grabbed my mz-n1, a incubus cd and my optical cable, connected them and began recording. UH OH, my md says, 'no signal'. the sound doesn't get through. is it the cable? my brother's pcdp sony works fine with it. i'm aware that the a. shock should be off during optical transfer. still no signal. i think i got what i paid for or am i missing something? the separate line out is okay with an analog cable. sigh!

anyway, i still have the wallet for an ej1000 just for the heck of it (and for my injured feelings). too bad i'm gonna miss the beyer 770 this month.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163692
Post #2 of 23

blr

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
916
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
916
Likes
11
Did you have the the PS connected?
I think the 570 optical out doesn't work on batteries alone.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163694
Post #3 of 23

dinosauract

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
146
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Posts
146
Likes
0
I didn't think the 570 had an optical out, I thought it was analog only. Am I wrong? I didn't read the manual closely, but I don't recall anything about the line out being able to transmit digital data.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163695
Post #4 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
i'm sorry i don't know what a "PS" is.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163697
Post #5 of 23

dinosauract

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
146
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Posts
146
Likes
0
I think "PS" means the power supply adapter that you plug into the wall. About my earlier post, I see you're in Korea. If I recall correctly the non-US model does have digital out capability, although the U.S. model doesn't. Please forgive my haste in my reply.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163698
Post #6 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally posted by dinosauract
I didn't think the 570 had an optical out, I thought it was analog only. Am I wrong? I didn't read the manual closely, but I don't recall anything about the line out being able to transmit digital data.


yup, it has an optical out. what fancies me is that it is separate from the analog out campared to sony units. or am is this really what it is with older units.
oh, probably if i can read the manual, i could figure out about this problem. anybody knows where i can download it? or can someone who has one read on this and help me out? will really save my "hurt feeling" right now
. thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163700
Post #7 of 23

blr

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
916
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
916
Likes
11
Sorry, me bad.
By PS I meant the external wall wart power supply. Try to record with the 570 running off this one instead of batteries.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163704
Post #9 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally posted by dinosauract
I think "PS" means the power supply adapter that you plug into the wall.


i.c. i'll buy one as soon as i can. and let you know if it works.
wow, the ac on this thing (4.5V) is bigger than my md which is only 3V.

Quote:

Please forgive my haste in my reply. [/B]



please don't be sorry. i'm the stupid one
and you're the one in the helping end. realllyyy appreciate this.


*tapping on wood and hopes to get that beyer instead of another pcdp
 
     Share This Post       
post-163705
Post #10 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
wab, thanks for the link. wow, you guys are fast.

BTW, nice avatar.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163715
Post #11 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
just scanned the manual and it didn't mention any optical out. i think this is because the english manual is for the us models which dinosauract just told me, has no optical out. i hope the ps will sovle the problem since since this pcdp seems to be working like new. i hope somebody here has the slct570-to-md setup that can verify this.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163762
Post #12 of 23

kerelybonto

doo-di-doo-di-dum doo-di-dum doo-di-doo-di-dum
Joined
May 6, 2002
Messages
1,518
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 6, 2002
Posts
1,518
Likes
10
Yeah, that's the US-version manual. The international version does have the optical out. I was disapointed to find out the US version didn't when it arrived, but oh well.

If your MD player came with a AC/DC power supply, you can use that too. As long as the output voltage is somewhere between 3-6V, you shouldn't have any problems -- just don't use a power supply for a cordless drill or something.

kerelybonto
 
     Share This Post       
post-163773
Post #13 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally posted by kerelybonto
If your MD player came with a AC/DC power supply, you can use that too. As long as the output voltage is somewhere between 3-6V, you shouldn't have any problems --
kerelybonto


i hope it'll work. yup, my n1 has external dc supply of 3v. but when i digitally rip my music using a sony pcdp, whether i use external power or only the internal batteries, i have no problems at all.

btw, i wonder why the us models are different. i think it's unfair. a few minutes ago, i saw that in the manual that the remote of the us model seems different from what comes with mine. mine came with a circle backlit (blue light). but anyway, guys, what matters is the very superior sound of this model. the eq is not needed. i don't even use the remote when i'm indoor since it's more raw (i think) if the phones are directly connected to the unit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163775
Post #14 of 23

Tina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Posts
496
Likes
0
nope, can't use it. the plug needed for the panasonic must be fatter. the sonys always use very thin dc plug jacks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-163780
Post #15 of 23

dinosauract

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
146
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Posts
146
Likes
0
I don't know why they're different either, in most cases, the non-US versions are better, IMO.

You MIGHT be limited to using a Panasonic PS for your unit, sometimes manufacturers put odd connectors on their gear to force you to buy their accessories. Don't know if the 570 is like that or not. If all else fails, I have 3 of these models, I certainly don't need 3 PS's. So I could send you one for the price of the shipping, but you should be able to find something locally that will work.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top