Good CDPs / SACDPs?
May 12, 2002 at 2:42 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 66

Joe Bloggs

Sponsor: HiBy
Member of the Trade: EFO Technologies Co, YanYin Technology
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Help, I'm completely new to the world of sources, feel free to throw in any recommendation. Max. price about $1000 but will consider more.

A great transport and line out are the main criteria, but a good headphone jack would be a plus.

Would I get better sound for the buck for CD-only players?

One question specifically regarding the NAD line:
Is their 541i their top model CDP?

HiBy Stay updated on HiBy at their facebook, website or email (icons below). Stay updated on HiBy at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.

https://www.facebook.com/hibycom https://store.hiby.com/ service@hiby.com
May 12, 2002 at 3:03 PM Post #2 of 66
And the CDP-XA20ES is Sony's top of the line single CD player? It does sound better than the 400CD changer M555ES at the same price right???

HiBy Stay updated on HiBy at their facebook, website or email (icons below). Stay updated on HiBy at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.

May 12, 2002 at 8:02 PM Post #4 of 66
Quote:

And the CDP-XA20ES is Sony's top of the line single CD player? It does sound better than the 400CD changer M555ES at the same price right???

Yes. It also is a great transport (headphone jack included). My only quibble is that it does not have an spdif digital out. The US model has the toslink digital out. Other than that, I bought mine at an extremely attractive price ($400 new).

On the other hand, you would probably do better in the long run by getting the new Sony SCD-XA777ES multichannel SACD ($1900 on some sites--search on Google). It is the top-of-the-line multichannel SACD player available and is, according to reviews, a terrific player both for CD's and SACD's.

That's my next upgrade.

May 12, 2002 at 9:43 PM Post #5 of 66
Hi Joe,