gilmore v2 & V2se
post-844813
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 11

jazpresso

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
110
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Posts
110
Likes
0
i would like to know how different between these amps? if i buy the v2 first, can i upgrade to v2se later? can anybody help?````
 
     Share This Post       
post-844832
Post #2 of 11

gpalmer

We are the weird ones.
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
7,080
Reaction score
12
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Posts
7,080
Likes
12
They are pretty similar at first listen. The V2 SE is smoother and has greater dynamics than the V2 does. Not that the V2 doesn't have good dynamics, but ther is just that shade more with the SE. In addition, the stepped attenuator gives you better level matching between channels than the pot on the V2, particularly at the low levels I like to listen at. The SE also has a considerable amount of flexibility as a preamp which is nice, mine is slated to be used mostly as a preamp in my second system in the future. There is no upgrade program I know of, you should discuss this with Justin before going ahead with an order. Even though they are pretty similar I found I would rush home from work to listen to my SE even after a day spent listening to my V2. I wouldn't part with either of these amplifers, they are both nice pieces of gear. If you can use the preamp, I would head straight for the SE, if not it depends on how far you want to push your headphone listening.
 
     Share This Post       
post-845033
Post #4 of 11

patrickamory

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2002
Messages
198
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jul 16, 2002
Posts
198
Likes
10
I just spent 2 weeks auditioning the V2. It is superb - smooth, quiet, grainless. It blows away all my previous amps (Creek OBH-11, MG-Head DT, and Audio Valve RKV Mk II).

It could just use a bit more gain when I listen to vinyl - but Justin can supply it with 50% or 100% more gain, along with a gain switch for different inputs.

I am buying the V2-SE - which I'd wanted to audition but wasn't available in an audition copy. Judging by what I've read, it will be even better than the V2 - and that was an absolutely superb amp.

J!
 
     Share This Post       
post-845126
Post #5 of 11

GWN

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
486
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Posts
486
Likes
10
With the exception of the stepped attenuator and the gain switch is there any difference to the circuit between V2 and V2SE?.
 
     Share This Post       
post-845132
Post #6 of 11

sacd lover

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Messages
8,190
Reaction score
32
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Posts
8,190
Likes
32
Quote:

Originally Posted by GWN
With the exception of the stepped attenuator and the gain switch is there any difference to the circuit between V2 and V2SE?.


Upgraded output caps on the v2-se.
 
     Share This Post       
post-846363
Post #7 of 11

00940

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
4,493
Reaction score
44
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Posts
4,493
Likes
44
Quote:

Originally Posted by sacd lover
Upgraded output caps on the v2-se.


output caps ?


Power supply caps I suppose ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-846394
Post #8 of 11

sft

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
155
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Posts
155
Likes
10
The second pair 4700uF is the output caps of lm317/337.
But the really 4.7(5)uF output caps of opa548s is omitted on V2 and V2SE.
All caps belong in power supply section. It's a DC design.
 
     Share This Post       
post-846395
Post #9 of 11

andrzejpw

May one day invent Bose-cancelling headphones.
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Messages
6,636
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Posts
6,636
Likes
10
correct, psu caps. There are no caps in the signal path.
 
     Share This Post       
post-846744
Post #10 of 11

sacd lover

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Messages
8,190
Reaction score
32
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Posts
8,190
Likes
32
Quote:

Originally Posted by sacd lover
Upgraded output caps on the v2-se.


Whoops power supply caps it is.
 
     Share This Post       
post-846794
Post #11 of 11

sft

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
155
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Posts
155
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by GWN
With the exception of the stepped attenuator and the gain switch is there any difference to the circuit between V2 and V2SE?.


The same PCB, so the same circuit.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top