Geek Pulse: Geek desktop DAC/AMP by Light Harmonics
Jul 25, 2016 at 11:34 PM Post #11,536 of 13,706

runningwitit

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2015
Posts
505
Likes
226
Sorry
@Adrian0115 
I have that over expensive Pulse SE and it is recognised by PC/Mac/ Android only after I power cycle it once. I dont trust these guys to send it back to repair from Europe because I dont think that I will see the unit back again so I have to live with it.  There is no way that this unit was as Larry promissed carefully tuned and tested. They have put some Cardas connectors in and overpiced a nomal infity, at least they could make the minimal effort to test it for that premium price. About the SQ : it sounds lifeless, artificial a real "digital " sound, exactly the contrary of what they have advertised.  I had to buy another Dac, the Chord 2qute, at the half of the price that I have payed for the SE and there a change like night and day: the Chord have a analog beautifull sound and worth every penny.
Let say it by the name, these guys are crooks and we have been cheated. 
Sorry you don't like your SE, but I simply love mine! You should send it in for repair, they have an AVERAGE two week turnaround!
 
Jul 27, 2016 at 9:17 AM Post #11,540 of 13,706

gikigill

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Posts
4,301
Likes
1,076
Location
Australia
Now my pulse needs multiple reboots to connect with Windows? Anyone else in the same boat?
 
Jul 27, 2016 at 9:37 AM Post #11,542 of 13,706

Panelhead

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Posts
44
Likes
11
Mine has been working fine with a Mac. Have the latest firmware installed.
I have considered a Revive or other USB bandaid. The Infinity sounds a lot better using the AES input. All my other dacs have FW buss. That sounds better than the coax input on them.
May just switch back to using a FW connected unit instead of "fixing" the USB. I thought USB had gotten a lot better.
 
Jul 27, 2016 at 10:55 AM Post #11,544 of 13,706

Benny-x

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Posts
1,232
Likes
286
Location
Canada/China
Is it hard to open up the V2 case? I would like to see the mu-metal shields over the Femto clocks and take a video of the naked resistors.


Super easy.

1. Loosen the side panel screws first
2. Then remove the magnetic top panel
3. Then unscrew the top side panel screws on both sides
4a. Then unscrew the bottom screws on the back
4b. Make sure to suction cup/stick grip your hand to the metal lid as you unscrew the last screws or else the lid/metal top panel will fall into the component. It's not heavy, but no need to let that happen if you know it will.

Post up some pics if you open it, always fun to see actual gear pics vs. staged/marketing ones. Even if I already own it :p
 
Jul 28, 2016 at 8:25 PM Post #11,546 of 13,706

musicheaven

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Posts
3,164
Likes
241
Now my pulse needs multiple reboots to connect with Windows? Anyone else in the same boat?


Try just disconnecting/reconnecting the USB cable from your PC . I don't think you need the shut it down, somehow when you turn on the unit and you PC is already on, the Pulse seems to need a handshake from the PC USB port. If you start the computer and the Pulse is already on, it gets the appropriate handshake from the PC and then no need to disconnect.

Hope this helps
 
Jul 28, 2016 at 10:11 PM Post #11,547 of 13,706

gikigill

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Posts
4,301
Likes
1,076
Location
Australia
I use the LPS4 too but still needs multiple reboots to start. Windows and Linux don't see it until then.
 
Jul 29, 2016 at 12:47 AM Post #11,548 of 13,706

savaloco

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Posts
45
Likes
31
Speaking of LPSs ... mine blew the fuse!  Could anyone confirm the value?  1A @ 250V .... slow burn?
Any online recommendations? 
https://www.amazon.ca/250V-1000mA-Delay-Glass-Fuses/dp/B00X77C6GO/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1469766866&sr=8-2&keywords=1a+250v+fuse
 
Cheers
 
 
Update ... 
Hey here's a deal  .... LOL !!!
https://www.amazon.ca/BARGAIN-PRICE-Heavy-Ceramic-Business/dp/B00JFC54SW/ref=sr_1_25?ie=UTF8&qid=1469767025&sr=8-25&keywords=1a+250v+fuse
 
Jul 29, 2016 at 4:11 AM Post #11,549 of 13,706

oneguy

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2015
Posts
1,080
Likes
350
Location
Texas
I bought 100 F1AL250v fuses off of eBay for $4.50 when my LPS4 melted the board (didn't know that at the time).
eBay auction #301993742942
 
Jul 29, 2016 at 4:51 AM Post #11,550 of 13,706

miceblue

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Posts
16,380
Likes
2,726
I'll write up my impressions later, but I slightly prefer the iDAC-6 over the Pulse X Infinity+LPS. The AK4490 implementation in this DAC makes the 9018AQ2M Sabre glare pretty apparent when compared next to one another. They're both really good DACs though, among the best I've heard in my years of this hobby.

sabre glare?!



http://www.head-fi.org/t/797583/cayin-idac-6-a-killer-new-dac-with-tons-of-options-on-board/105#post_12754876
IaLG69W.gif
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top