[FS] Dynamight
Type
For Sale
Currency
Euro
Price
600
Shipping Destinations
Anywhere
post-13815459
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 15

Kruemelix

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
104
Reaction score
7
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Posts
104
Likes
7
Hi,

not sure whether anyone still remembers this gem of amplifier, but I was one of the few ones here in the forum who actually built a fully working KG Dynamight. It was done as a side project during my electrical engineering studies in 2007, but I eventually lost interest in headphones around 2010. Since then, the amplifier is basically unused.

The specs are:
- fully balanced
- either passive or active cooling (fans glued directly to heatsinks)
- balanced stepped attenuator
- encapsulated transformers (2x Avel Lindberg 40/3022, 1x forgot the manufacturer)
- matched transistors, 1% resistors
- high quality capacitors (can't remember the manufacturer anymore)
- 2x balanced input, 2x unbalanced input
- 1x balanced output, 1x unbalanced output
- 1x spare input (thought about adding a DAC but never did it)
- massive Neutrik power cord
- wired for 230V, but should be also working with 110V as the transformers have a center tapping
- not too light (around 17kg without the power cord)

Think the build quality can be seen in the pictures, when I built it I was just going for the best (except silver wires, because I can't hear any difference). The label on the front of the amplifier can probably be removed with acetone but it never bothered me much, thus I left it as is. Included with the amplifier comes also a metal remote control for input selection and volume control which I couldn't find right now (only the plastic counterpart). Will search for it the next days.

Asking 600€, will ship worldwide. Please be aware that the amplifier is quite heavy (almost 20kg), thus worldwide shipping will be around 50€. As an alternative, the amplifier can also be listened to and picked up in Augsburg, Germany.

Best regards,

Thomas

P.S. neither the small headphone amp in the middle of the first picture nor the K1000 in the other picture is included :wink:

IMG_4427.jpg
IMG_4430.jpg
IMG_4431.jpg
P1020503.JPG
P1020505.JPG
P1020507.JPG
P1020511.JPG
P1020512.JPG
P1020516.JPG
P1020521.JPG
IMG_0645.JPG
 
Last edited:
post-14436606
Post #2 of 15

Kruemelix

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
104
Reaction score
7
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Posts
104
Likes
7
bump

A note for anyone with 110V: Although it shouldn't be too difficult to rewire the transformers for 110V, you have to do it yourself as I sold most of my electronic equipment over the last years.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14437243
Post #3 of 15

Rossliew

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
2,174
Reaction score
136
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Posts
2,174
Likes
136
Is this amp only suitable for hard to drive headphones? Have you tried it with high impedance phones before?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14438571
Post #4 of 15

Kruemelix

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
104
Reaction score
7
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Posts
104
Likes
7
no idea, never tried it. But I know that the amplifier gain can be increased by just exchanging a single resistor (per board), thus it should be possible.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15384827
Post #7 of 15

Kruemelix

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
104
Reaction score
7
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Posts
104
Likes
7
totally forgot about the thread - price drop
 
     Share This Post       
post-15705499
Post #9 of 15

jonman1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2017
Messages
167
Reaction score
28
Location
USA
Joined
Dec 11, 2017
Location
USA
Posts
167
Likes
28
What is the difference between the DynaMight and a balanced Dynahi?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15705588
Post #10 of 15

paradoxper

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
7,731
Reaction score
2,365
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Posts
7,731
Likes
2,365
What is the difference between the DynaMight and a balanced Dynahi?
Depends on the build (Dynamight is a balanced Dynahi) and its evolutions such as SuSy Dynahi, etc.
You'll be familiar with B22 v B24, for example.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15705595
Post #11 of 15

jonman1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2017
Messages
167
Reaction score
28
Location
USA
Joined
Dec 11, 2017
Location
USA
Posts
167
Likes
28
Depends on the build (Dynamight is a balanced Dynahi) and its evolutions such as SuSy Dynahi, etc.
You'll be familiar with B22 v B24, for example.
That is what I thought but I get lost with all the dyna/amb labs/headamp evolutions as you mentioned.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15705604
Post #12 of 15

paradoxper

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
7,731
Reaction score
2,365
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Posts
7,731
Likes
2,365
That is what I thought but I get lost with all the dyna/amb labs/headamp evolutions as you mentioned.
That price is attractive. Although, personally, I would opt to commission a SuSy Dynahi.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15706304
Post #13 of 15

Kruemelix

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
104
Reaction score
7
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Posts
104
Likes
7
it is indeed a balanced Dynahi. The only problem is that I don't listen to headphones anymore
 
     Share This Post       
post-15707982
Post #14 of 15

purk

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
10,306
Reaction score
2,334
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Posts
10,306
Likes
2,334
Is this amp only suitable for hard to drive headphones? Have you tried it with high impedance phones before?
This is a great deal but I much prefer a one box option rather than two. This should be a match made in heaven for Susvara or any planar magnetic and K1000. This is a steal really. Can u convert the voltage to 110 V?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15708703
Post #15 of 15

Kruemelix

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
104
Reaction score
7
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Posts
104
Likes
7
This is a great deal but I much prefer a one box option rather than two. This should be a match made in heaven for Susvara or any planar magnetic and K1000. This is a steal really. Can u convert the voltage to 110 V?
you can, all the original transformer input wires are still there
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top